We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, efficient, friendly service good food.”
Review of Union

Union
Reserve with OpenTable
Union is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 620 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Description: At UNION we believe that being supplied by the best local farms allows you to enjoy ingredients at their peak of flavor. We partner with farms and producers across New England to ensure that when you dine with us you are truly getting a taste of the region's finest ingredients. Enjoy the bounty of what our oceans, streams, and local purveyors have produced as we commit to using sustainable Maine Products whenever possible.
Restaurant details
Description: At UNION we believe that being supplied by the best local farms allows you to enjoy ingredients at their peak of flavor. We partner with farms and producers across New England to ensure that when you dine with us you are truly getting a taste of the region's finest ingredients. Enjoy the bounty of what our oceans, streams, and local purveyors have produced as we commit to using sustainable Maine Products whenever possible.
Reviewed 20 April 2018

This is a cool upscale restaurant attached to the hotel but it has it's own vibe. Warm and friendly but not overbearing service. Plenty of choice for lunch with efficient service. Great dessert. Will definitely visit again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ajaxme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union_Manager, Manager at Union, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at UNION! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your lunch, and that our service was approachable and attentive! We will be sure to share your kind feedback with our culinary and service team, and look forward to having you back here very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

I stopped in for lunch with two friends. I ordered the lunch deal which is soup, salad and a sandwich. My friends ordered burgers. We also ordered the brussel sprouts. We all enjoyed our food and the service was friendly from everyone. Our server was fantastic and was so sweet. After we paid, he brought us over a dessert plate (it was a double birthday lunch). I thought it was really nice and very thoughtful. He didn't need to do that, and we really appreciated it. I found everyone to be very nice in the restaurant and hotel and we will be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union_Manager, Manager at Union, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good afternoon Maggie,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at UNION! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your lunch, and that you thought of us to celebrate your birthday! We will be sure to share your kind feedback with our culinary and service team, and look forward to having you back here very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

In town for a speedy solo getaway, I stayed at the Press Hotel and had dinner at the Union restaurant. From the moment I arrived, the hostess and wait staff were all so kind and welcoming. It can often feel awkward to eat alone at a restaurant for a nice meal, but not so at Union. They were kind enough to seat me in a location perfect for watching the activities in the open kitchen, too. The food itself was exquisite. The homemade bread for the evening was anadama: so delicious with a perfect crust and crumb. The fried goat cheese with crostini and honey roasted garlic was scrumptious. Their crispy Brussels sprouts were unique and addictive (though you may want to ask them to put the aoli on the side as some of the individual sprouts ended up with a bit too much on them). Their green apple brûlée was creative, beautiful and so tasty! Thanks for a wonderful meal. I will definitely return next time I am in Portland.

Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union_Manager, Manager at Union, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good morning Lisa,

Thank you for taking time to leave such kind feedback on TripAdvisor for UNION! We greatly appreciate you visiting us on your trip to Portland, and we are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed some of our new dishes from our Spring menu! We will be sure to share your gracious feedback with our culinary and service team here at UNION. Look forward to having you join us again the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My wife and I treated a relative to brunch at this restaurant located inside the trendy Press Hotel at the top of Exchange Street. The atmosphere is modern and spare but comfortable and not noisy. It has a small bar and multiple seating areas that are set apart so that they don't feel crowded. My omelette was excellent. My English muffin was locally made and delicious. My wife's pain perdu was moist and rich. Of course the maple syrup was local. Our guest had a "lobster roll" which was a delicious lobster salad in a homemade bun. It was a big hit. I look forward to going back for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivere731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union_Manager, Manager at Union, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on TripAdvisor for UNION. We greatly appreciate you joining of us for your brunch over the weekend, and we are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the pain perdu and omelette as much as we do! We will make sure to share your gracious feedback with our culinary team and look forward to having you back in for dinner soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stopped in before the theater at Merrill. The charcuterie was very good and we loved the Brussel Sprouts! We didn't really care for the hominy that came with the shrimp but the smoked shrimp were excellent! Staff was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union_Manager, Manager at Union, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good morning Kristen,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here at The Press Hotel and UNION! We're thrilled to hear that you our brussels sprouts as much as we do, and will certainly share your feedback to our culinary team regarding the hominy grits. We look forward to having you back in to UNION very soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union also viewed

 

Been to Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;