We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Jonathan's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jonathan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 102 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Jonathan's is on the Ogunquit Trolley Route!
Description: Casual, Fine Dining at its best! Serving the local and traveling public for nearly four decades! Focus on local, farm grown products from Jonathan's farm in South Berwick, Maine and using local seafood. We are a full service restaurant for families, couples, friends, parties, weddings, conferences and concerts!
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The food was delicious. Our waitress name was Tanisha, she was very pleasant, always smile when ever you need something Tanisha was there to serve you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ceceliayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thanks very much, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and your server Tanisha, thanks for recognizing her great work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I visited after seeing twin lobster special advertised on the side of trolley in town. Location is very easy to find and from outside it looks inviting. We were greeted warmly and I must say that our server was lovely. She is here for the first time from Jamaica and was very friendly and pleasant but could have been a bit more attentive after we were served.
I had the steak tips from the specials menu and hubby got his twin lobsters. It should be made known that the lobsters are soft shell..we weren't told that but also didn't ask. The tips were good although the Demi glaze atop was very rich. I also had to cut them with a butter knife as I was never brought a steak knife nor did the server come by to check on us as noted above, so I couldn't ask for one. Also, my meal from the specials menu did include mashed potato (lumpy) the rest of menu is ala carte.
I don't know that we will return to Jonathan's again. Lots of competing restaurants to choose from.

1  Thank ellebelle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you for the detailed feedback. We are sorry to hear where we fell short on the evening you visited. I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Very good upscale food served by a very friendly server. Very attentive to gluten free diet....separate gf menu.

1  Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thanks for recognizing our great food and friendly server. We always offer gluten free options, glad to hear they worked out for you! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The atmosphere is nice, although someone may want to tend to the gardens outside the doors outside the "charcoal room", they are looking in need of some love and attention and could be quite pretty! Food was good - we tried the lobster stew which was a little bit on the spicy side (chef could go lighter on the cayenne pepper), wedge salad was lovely with the pickled onions, seafood stuff haddock was delicious as were the baked stuffed scallops and steak diane, the meat was prepared just the way it was ordered. Drew was one of our servers and he was excellent even when the bar got overwhelmed and my second glass of wine was severely delayed and then the wrong kind. He deleted it from the bill and comp'd me my first glass of wine in apology. All in all, a very positive experience - we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed Drew's service. Thank you for recognizing the excellent food. We regret and are sorry to hear about your unacceptable wine service, thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We dined here our last night in town. I was still in search of the perfect lobster and theirs was very good. Cooked just right accompanied by an ear of corn. Hubby had the lobster stew which he really liked and a seafood platter. The waitress was attentive and pleasant. The basket of breads was interesting. Apple crisp was ok. Best part was the vanilla ice cream. We just felt we missed a better opportunity somewhere else.

Thank MARYWPulaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for the feedback. Thank you for recognizing our lobster cooked just right, delicious lobster stew, and seafood pasta. Also thank you for mentioning that you had a pleasant and attentive waitress. Glad to hear you enjoyed the bread and sorry the apple crisp was only OK. We are sorry that you may have been able to have a more enjoyable meal elsewhere. Thank you for letting us know so we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing