We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
10
5
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy bedcampfirefridgeroutelinenslobbytv
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Nice, small roadside motel. It is run by a very friendly young couple. The lady is Dutch and her husband American. It is not often you can speak your own language. Very clean, well situated on your way from Boston to Acadia NP.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stopped for one night on the road. Host was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Reasonable rates. Maybe it was just our room. No. 1 has no hot water, tiny shower, springy uncomfortable bed. Poorly placed lamps. No coffee pot. Had to wake up the host at 8 am to get coffee. Provided ear plugs as an amenity. What does that tell you? Check out the accommodations in the back yard. Quaint!

Room Tip: Room 1 has no hot water.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheTexasPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Our stay was just a stop on the way to Bar Harbor. The owners were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable for just the two of us. The location was convenient - an easy drive down to Camden or up to Belfast (as there is nothing in Northport.) Nothing fancy, good value!

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The Merrybell is a sweet little roadside motel located in a quiet, wooded country stretch of Route 1, just minutes from beautiful coastal towns in either direction (Belfast, Lincolnville, Camden). Recently renovated under new management, the rooms are simple, clean, comfy and affordable. Some reviews have mentioned road noise but the a/c covers that right up. The night we stayed, the owners spent the evening relaxing with guests around a campfire in the garden, and at checkout time we found coffee and melons set out in the lobby.

This is a simple motel with the warm, welcoming touch you'd expect from a bed and breakfast. We would love to have tried their standalone cabin, but it was solidly booked out.

Room Tip: Get the cabin if you can!
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank codettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I recently stayed here with my young children during our Penobscot adventure. The motel was perfect for us. The recent renovations are right on: clean, modern and airy feeling. Definitely appreciated the exposed wood touches and the large black and white photos. Way preferable to the dusty kitsch or fussy florals you might find at a similarly priced spot.

The hosts were so nice my children have been talking for days about the day when we will return, for a much longer stay. They appreciated the outside space and the breakfast tea. I appreciated the quiet room, the comfy bed. We went to bed early and were not disturbed by our neighbors at all. It was humid (especially for ME!) and the AC unit kept us comfortable.

The over all hospitable feel reminded me of nice hostels in my traveling days of yore, but without the being on top of people part. :) We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank milkweedseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews