We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Afternoon”

Rugosa Lobster Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is a demonstration of lobster fishing and information about lobster biology, Maine lobster fisheries, commercial aspects of the fishery and last but not least, some local history. Fun for the whole family. The Rugosa is a real wooden lobster boat out on the Gulf of Maine and in terms of information shared by the tour guide, it is pretty comprehensive material for children under 4 years of age. Very young children can be a distraction to the rest of the guests aboard the boat, enjoying the presentation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Our guides were friendly and encouraged us to interact with them. We enjoyed the tour very much. Be sure to get there before the middle of October, as many hotels and restaurants close for the winter. However, unsure what that means for our lobster men. Would highly recommend this tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Owner at Rugosa Lobster Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you Jan! We are delighted that you enjoyed our tour.

Capt. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain bob"
in 69 reviews
"lobster"
in 297 reviews
"great tour"
in 31 reviews
"educational tour"
in 11 reviews
"life cycle"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 23 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 12 reviews
"his assistant"
in 8 reviews
"learning experience"
in 6 reviews
"sea bands"
in 6 reviews
"boat ride"
in 12 reviews
"hour and a half"
in 8 reviews
"fun trip"
in 8 reviews
"learned a great deal"
in 5 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
Filter

237 - 241 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

These guys were entertaining and we left feeling like we had a whole new found knowledge of the lobster and the industry. Highly exceeded my expectations.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Brad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Owner at Rugosa Lobster Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you Brad K. Glad you had a good time!

Capt. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Had a great outing with Captain Bob and Professor Dave. A lot of information and hands on experience with lobsters. The educational experience length was a perfect
1.25 hours, not too long but very fulfilling. We landed lobsters, studied them and handled them. The crew was great!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Owner at Rugosa Lobster Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you lling88. We are greatly appreciative of your review. It was great to have you aboard!

Capt. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Awesome tour. The guys were very knowledgeable and fun. Well worth it. I would def recommend this to anyone. It was my favorite memory of our trip.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank janab722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Owner at Rugosa Lobster Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you janab722. It was our pleasure to have you aboard.

Capt,. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

very educational, crew was awesome, boat ride was aok, they said it would be rough but i noticed little or no waves. their explanation of the rules and regulations of the lobster industry gave me a new understanding. would recommend it to everyone, and if i am back i might do it again. we were the last tour of the season which was kind of neat

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 6magdaddy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, Owner at Rugosa Lobster Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you 6magdaddy9 for your review. Our morning trip that day was pretty nauseating and so I was expecting it to be similar. We lucked out with a pretty decent ocean for your trip. Thanks for being aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugosa Lobster Tours also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Rugosa Lobster Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing