We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Restaurant ME vs NH”

The White Barn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$125 - US$165
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais & Châteaux property.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

During my birthday month, we, with another couple, had the opportunity to dine at two restaurants voted most romantic in the state,The White Barn Inn, ME and the Bedford Village Inn, NH. If you are thinking of a special night, The White Barn offers a more romantic interior for most areas, but the wait staff was, for lack of a better description, "quietly snooty." We have traveled 4 continents and this has not been our service experience in restaurants of this caliber elsewhere. Artisan cocktails excellent. All dishes were fine, excellence in prep was occasional. Wine pairings were hit and miss. We all shared and found the bisque over salted. On the other hand, The BVI in NH had a less romantic colonial theme going. Intimate dining within a number of cozy rooms. Outside dining area/gardens intimate and lovely. All eight meals (more friends) served were delicious, some of the best oysters I have ever eaten. Service and wine pairings were impeccable. Cost, not that it mattered much when celebrating another decade, was 1/3 less than White Barn Inn.

1  Thank BeenThere2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to offer uniquely romantic dining experiences and are happy to see that you enjoyed it. It is never our intention to provide anything other than warm, friendly service. We will certainly share your thoughts with our Chef and staff. We do hope you allow us to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Had dinner in Bistro. Property is lovely. Bistro is next to main dining room and the room is classic French style and was well appointed. The night we were there, it seemed there was only one waiter working the room and he
was overworked. Service is formal with tuxedos. Lobster bisque had deep complex flavor and was great. Lazy Lobster was great, but no holders for the corn. Peppercorn sirloin steak frites was very tough and disappointing given the price . Wine by glass prices hovered between 20-30 per glass and were higher than I have seen anywhere. We have been to many Relaix and Chateau properties and would rank this towards the bottom.

2  Thank Dallas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than perfect. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, which we will take to heart and use to improve in the hopes of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had the four course dinner - not the tasting menu. Food was very good not great. The service is fantastic. We had a drink at the bar before dinner - small (six seats) but cozy. There is also a small seating area with side chairs where you can have cocktails.

We both had lobster spring rolls to start. Little disappointed. Was more egg roll than spring roll. The lobster and the egg roll wrapping didn't really mesh for me.

Intermezzo - He had bacon potato soup and thought it was very good. I had cucumber mint sorbet - also very good.

We both had foie gras encrusted tenderloin. Meat was great. Beet whipped potatoes were alright.

Dessert - he had a chocolate mousse and flourless chocolate cake and I had apricot soufflé. Both were good.

Overall good meal great service.

Thank CPNY25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, eloquent! Great service. Trip advisor noted the restaurant is closed. We had lunch today.

1  Thank mikem1947911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for stopping by. We're terribly sorry that the listing was wrong (it has been fixed now thank you), but very happy
that you came regardless! We would be delighted if you came back for dinner and tried our Lobster with Fettuccine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The whole experience was perfect including atmosphere, seating, food, service... Lazy man lobster is probably the best lobster I ever had and the rest of the meal was equally good: truffle fries, truffle mac and cheese, tuna bowl, brownie...

Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Maine is such a beautiful state and we are so lucky to be in it. We are truly pleased you chose to join us as part of your New England road trip, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Barn Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing