We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick eats”
Review of Bishops

Bishops
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Jackman
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: American
Description: We started as a small general store and gas station. Over time we have evolved and we now include a combination of sporting goods, deli, gifts, souvenirs and general merchandise. Our pizza has been described by many customers as the best in Maine. We offer many specialty pizza's such as our ever popular Honey D and BishMac pizza's plus many more. We also have a 100% Angus Beef burger fresh; never frozen... Our kitchen items are sure to fill you up and leave you feeling happy!
Restaurant details
Description: We started as a small general store and gas station. Over time we have evolved and we now include a combination of sporting goods, deli, gifts, souvenirs and general merchandise. Our pizza has been described by many customers as the best in Maine. We offer many specialty pizza's such as our ever popular Honey D and BishMac pizza's plus many more. We also have a 100% Angus Beef burger fresh; never frozen... Our kitchen items are sure to fill you up and leave you feeling happy!
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Excellent food at low cost. If you need to pick something up quick and like pizza subs or mozzarella cheese sticks. this is the place in Jackman to go

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Owner at Bishops, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We try hard to have a large variety of grab and go foods available; especially during lunch. We generally have fresh pizza available, hot subs, and fried foods in the warmer! Mozzarella Sticks are a favorite of many customers. We also have many fresh made cold subs and wraps you should try next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

As a variety store, it's fine, but if you're looking for a place to eat, I'd keep looking. They have a decent snack bar but the help can't seem to handle more than 1-2 customers at a time. Their ordering system (order in one part of the store, pay in another) is not efficient (and quite frankly didn't work when I was there) and their ability to handle a Friday night "rush" is questionable.

Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Owner at Bishops, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Steven,
You are absolutely correct! Not to make excuses but we have had a rough two weeks. I was out with a medical emergency which also took myt wife away as well. To make matters worse a full time employee never called or showed for 4 days and I'm sure you know what happened when he did. I will not make excuses for our ordering system. Normally it works very well. The reason we have you pay at the main cash is that we do not allow our Kitchen staff to handle money which is one of the dirtiest items to be found anywhere.
I apologize that you did not have a favorable experience and hope that you can give us another shot. I will personally make it up to you if you want to contact me directly at the store. Thank you for letting us know your experience. Always appreciate feedback. Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This place has some of the best pizza by the slice anywhere. Lots of good sandwiches. You can eat in or take out. Fun souvenirs and local stuff!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray L, Owner at Bishops, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you Tania for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed our Pizza and Subs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This store has everything you need for a weekend of camping. Very cute inside! Lots of Maine-themed gifts, toys, fishing and camping supplies, and even a little restaurant inside!

1  Thank karamc642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I went to Jackman Maine for a little mini vacation and we decided to go into Bishops to see what they had for merchandise. We were pleasantly surprised by the selection of t-shirts, sweatshirts, sweatpants and if you wanted .. shorts. As well as little odds and ends that they have at the store. We didn't eat here, but it sure smelled good and looked good too. Next time we go up we will have to try their food as well.

1  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishops also viewed

 

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing