We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Breakfast Buffet!”

Governor's Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Just opened April 25th, 2012
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We are normally a little leery of breakfast buffets. Food can sit there and get cold and stale. But Governor's kept it fresh and hot. And you can order eggs made however you want! They also make toast out of the bread you choose saying they don't want it to dry out in the buffet. This attention to detail really makes the difference in an OK buffet and a great buffet. This was a great buffet. There were choices of hot foods but also lots of fresh, cut fruit, yogurt cups, etc. We had a hearty breakfast for a decent price.

Our waitress was attentive and pleasant. We noticed some regulars that the wait staff knew and had fun talking to. They even knew their orders and had things started by the time they sat down.

The pies and other pastries looked wonderful too. If we'd had room, we would have tried some.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Restaurant & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Kaye - thanks so much for the review of our Buffet! Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Spent half a day on planes and automobile and just wanted some place near where we were staying for lunch. Portion sizes were bigger than expected and should not have ordered appetizers as we were almost full before lunch arrived. Scallops were very good and I was surprised that the meat did not toughen up as they were fried. My kids had the lobster stew and salmon and both of them enjoyed their meals.

Thank vbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Restaurant & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thanks so much for the review and for stopping in! Enjoy your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Great little place for breakfast!
Timmy our server was very welcoming, offered suggestions.
Had the Governors Breakfast special $4.00 and thanks to the recommendation got the free upgrade of repurposed baked potatoes from the day before as hash brown potatoes with onions.
Breakfast was quick and good.
Cute place with a electric train going around the perimeter of the restaurant.
Bought 2 peanut butter cookies on the way out as well.
Breakfast for 2 under $10. What a bargain!

Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Restaurant & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Jane - Thanks for the review! Glad you stopped in to see us. We'll pass your note on to Timmy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Great food too much!! Plenty of left overs! We got the club sandwich were on a time schedule! They were quick and food was great

Thank justformykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Restaurant & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks so much for stopping in and leaving a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Reminded me of the old Howard Johnsons restaurants when I was a kid. Don’t expect a fine dining experience, it sort of an upscale diner menu. Allison was our server and she was very nice, taking the time to joke around and make our visit quite enjoyable. Food was good and inexpensive. I would recommend it for a quick lunch of light dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vesta_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Restaurant & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Governor's Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing