We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you ruin Spaghetti!!”

Primavera Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #26 of 72 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Price range: US$13 - US$30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Went to this restaurant with my family when they first opened up (June 2017) and was extremely disappointed. The food was terrible, the prices extremely high and the service OK but nothing special. I couldn't believe how runny the sauce was on my Spaghetti, it was like red dishwater. I love Italian food, but this was the absolute worst I've ever had.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happygram2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018

we were delighted to find (by luck someone recommended it to us) the Primavera Inn with attached excellent Italian restaurant. We came in tired from a day's travel and found it easily though we do not know Ellsworth very well. We got a large room that had been recently renovated with the most wonderful walk-in shower! And the enormous bed was great for this old married couple, and to be able to amble over to a delicious dinner was an added bonus. We liked it so much we returned the next night for an encore.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

The vibe was weird the moment we walked in. We waited several minutes before being acknowledged, and several more minutes before we were seated. One woman was the hostess, bartender & our waitress. Table was lit with blue lighting, almost like a fluorescent black light, could barely read the menu. We ordered spaghetti with meatball & lasagna. Spaghetti sauce tasted metallic(?). Maybe a canned sauce? Tasted like a tin can or maybe spaghetti was cooked in dirty dish water? Meatballs tasted like dog food. Not edible for a husband that will eat anything! Lasagna was slightly better. Waitress never checked on us mid meal, and we waited over 30 minutes before she acknowledged our existence and finally brought us our bill. If not illegal, we would have walked out without paying! No one would have noticed. Never again! Heard they were closing for “renovations”, and will reopen as a Mexican restaurant. They certainly have no idea what Italian cooking is!! I’ve had better frozen entrees from Lean Cuisine!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SnowyOwl710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primavera R, General Manager at Primavera Restaurant & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Im so sorry that you had a less that exceptional experience at Primavera. All our sauces are homemade. I would like to talk to you about this experience and make it up to you, Im Virginia, the General manager 207 667 5318.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Excellent food, excellent service. But they closed for lunch. Pity. No more Sunday Supper with Mama.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primavera R, General Manager at Primavera Restaurant & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! We may open for lunch spring,stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

My fiance and I had heard negative feedback on this restaurant but decided to try it for ourselves. We were extremely pleased and surprised with our experience. Our server, Amber, greeted us with a very friendly, professional and bubbly personality. We were first served warm yeast rolls with herb butter which we think contained fresh basil. Then came a salad served family style and topped with an amazing zesty lemon vinagerette. Next, our entree's were a superb marsala sauce accented veal. This was served with a mushroom risotto that was perfectly prepared. The other entree was generously portioned cheese ravioli with a creamy alfredo sauce. Our overall experience from start to finish was surprisingly amazing! The italian red wine and chocolate torte topped of a fantastic experience. We will absolutely go again. Our only constructive feedback is that we were enjoying our experience and wished there had been a bit of space between the salad, appetizers and entrees. Please give this restaurant a try for yourself.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primavera Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Primavera Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing