We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum yum. ”

Kun Yao Thai Restaurant
Get food delivered
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is almost an hours drive from me (meeting friends that live on that side of town), but my gosh it was worth each and every mile.

The food here was beautiful. The decor is lovely and the service was good. There was six of us, and each of us enjoyed what we ordered. Everything went right (other than forgetting one side dish of coconut rice which came out promptly after reminding them), and otherwise it was a good experience.

I got curry puffs and chew chee salmon, and both were scrumptious. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again. You do need to search for it, as it's in a shopping complex and tucked in towards the back, but it's worth giving it a go. And once you're done eating, especially in summer, just take a minute stroll to the lake front where it's just beautiful and serene. Definitely come here if you're in the area ... or if you too have friends that live closer to it than you do, but it's a hike. It's truly worth it.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AngieBee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2020

We have dined in about 10 times and had take-away about 20+ times.

Great for take-away.
Dine in - as a couple we enjoy the banquet. So much food & really nice.
Since it's renovation it's not overly ambient, but great as a local dinner spot.

There is nothin excessive "fancy" about the food, but it's a day to day kind of delicious and I could inhale the massaman beef curry & the satay dipping sauce!! Delicious.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2020 via mobile

We weren’t impressed previously so didn’t go back for a couple of years and we are glad we went back.

We had the banquet.

The food was lovely particularly the Kari Curry and Fresh Ta Krai.

They weren’t overly spicy even though we requested spicy. Medium at best but lovely flavour.

Rice was a little disappointing but my partner said he was happy to have it.

Service was good especially as it was in the second night they were open for dine in after COVID restrictions were relaxed.

We felt very comfortable with the temperature checks, amount of allocated, availability of sanitiser etc. definitely not long some restaurants and cafes I walked past earlier in the day.

We will definitely go back.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank wackijac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2018

This quaint Thai Restaurant is tucked away nears the surrounds of Patterson Lakes.
The food is magnificent and authentic Thai. We ordered a variety of dishes and none disappointed us. The restaurant decor creates a wonderful atmosphere that is commensurate with the food that they serve. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a quality dining experience.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We booked a week in advance a dinner for 4. We didn’t leave a recorded message but spoke directly to a young lady who took our booking down. So we arrive for dinner on Friday 10th at 7pm to find the restaurant closed.. no phone call , just a sign apologising. Obviously something catastrophic must have happened, but how about a courtesy call to those who had made bookings. Unacceptable

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank crofty1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kun Yao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Patterson Lakes, Greater Melbourne
Patterson Lakes, Greater Melbourne
 
Chelsea, Greater Melbourne
Patterson Lakes, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Kun Yao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.