We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hawthorn Inn(Camden)
US$259
US$197
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Inn(Camden)
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
16 Bay View(Camden)
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Harbor House Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$159
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norumbega Inn(Camden)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
181
77
18
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
77
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastpet suiteyogurtaway from the roadkeurig coffee maker in the roomwithin walking distance to townwonderful homemadeceiling fanhome bakedshort walktwo blockscomfortable bedrooms were very cleanwould stay here againthe location is perfectexploring camdennice room
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed here two nights on our way up the Coast. The rooms are not huge.......but they are nice and clean. The owners are beyond delightful and helpful...............and the location is wonderful. You can park right outside your room, which we really appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank buffykline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you: it's nice to be called delightful! The best part of our job is guests like you. The next time you come, we hope you'll reserve one of our larger rooms, like the Double Queen or King size, which offer quite a bigger footprint than our downstairs Single Queens. Glad you enjoyed the location. Hope to see you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We are repeat customers to the Towne Motel and it is consistently a great place to stay. The location is perfect --walkable to town for dinner etc and hiking and lakes and the bay are all short drives. The rooms are very clean and the owners are attentive and friendly. The baked goods for breakfast are always amazing creations. Book here--it's a winner.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words: especially about our breakfasts! We do enjoy baking for our guests and are always on the lookout for new recipes (and guest responses ;) People really love our location, so close to town that you can park here and walk in, but quiet when you come back to relax or sleep. Hope you return to Camden and to us, next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Towne Motel for 5 nights. We stayed in the king sized room which was immaculate with a very comfortable feel.

Boyfriend here. The rooms the owners are remodeling give the motel an increasingly coastal and cottage-like feeling. We love it. Ours was clean and cozy.

We enjoyed our conversations with the owners and tried many of their suggestions.

Boyfriend again. Katja and Siobhan are wonderful. They really made our stay a complete joy.

We had a wonderful visit and will surely be back.

Last boyfriend note. We will be back, of this there is no doubt. We love Maine, we love Camden and we now love the Towne Motel, which truly is more like a country inn than a motel.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Thank you so much, Karen and Lou! We loved getting to you know you too and really enjoyed our morning talks, with your reports of what you had done and discovered the day before, and what you planned to to today. We miss you this week! So glad that you loved our remodeled King room; the makeovers are creative and fun for us, and we always appreciate guest feedback on them. Hope you can come back next summer--your room and Camden (and we) await you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

As a frequent guest at the Towne Motel, I am always happy to write a review for the great owners after each visit. I just read the review referencing one of the owners as hostile and I'm stunned. While staying there last month, I was fully aware of an on-going noise situation with the lawn service company that services the business next to the motel, as I was awakened early by the woman (not elderly and feeble), running a blowing device. As I went downstairs for coffee, I was apologized to repeatedly by the owners for the noise situation and learned they had tried unsuccessfully on numerous occasions to reason with this same lawn service employee about coming to this location at a different time of day. The owners of the Towne Motel are professionals and members of this community. I find it highly unlikely, watching how respectful they treat guests and their employees that they would behave in a hostile manner to anyone.
I travel frequently, and would stay nowhere but the Towne Motel when in the Camden area. Not just due to the fact it's the most reasonably priced, impeccably clean, recently rennovated; but primarily because the owners are so kind and accommodating. Hostile? Highly improbable.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank janadele59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Jan, you are one of our favorite guests! Thank you so much for this lovely review, and for addressing the completely inaccurate and hurtful review we received earlier this week. It's important for our guests to hear what really happened, and not just from us. That "encounter" with the lawn service company employee was not only upsetting because of the noise, but because her uncaring attitude was so uncharacteristic of what we we experience every day here in Camden, where being a good neighbor is a big (and wonderful) part of the culture.

We're so happy you're coming back for a stay soon! You'll be in one of your (and our) favorite rooms, with a view of Mount Battie. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I witnessed an encounter the owner had with an elderly woman that was trimming shrubs with an electric trimmer, which made far less noise than that of the owner yelling and the non stop traffic on Rt. 1 where it's located. I could not believe that someone in the hospitality business would be so incredibly rude. She did not go over to the woman and speak with her, instead she just began to yell at her; " Thanks for the noise at 8:30, people are sleeping, but you don't care. etc. " I would not recommend spending any money in a place where regard for working neighbors is nonexistent.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mcintyre3jel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

While we appreciate—and learn from—constructive criticism, we must refute this review as a completely inaccurate representation of what happened. At shortly after 8:00 that morning, the woman who does lawn maintenance for the commercial property next door arrived and immediately began using a hedge clipper underneath guest room windows and next to the dining room. Her assistant started up with a weed whacker. She had mowed the lawn early in the day a couple of times already this year, but the noise level this time was significantly worse. As lodging owners, we know that sleep quality and overall peace are very important to our guests. People on vacation in Maine—or anywhere!—don’t want to be awakened by noise like that.

We had this same problem early in the summer last year and asked the lawn maintenance person—nicely—to please not make so much noise before 9 a.m. Her response was one of complete indifference to our guests’ comfort and a flat refusal to change her schedule. We then contacted the owner of the building—a lovely former neighbor, who completely understood the situation and got the schedule changed. Problem solved, we thought, until that day last week. Knowing there was no point in attempting a conversation, I simply walked down the driveway, pointed to our guest rooms, and, over all the noise, said “Thank you!” That was the total extent of my interaction with her. To describe this as abusive or hostile is a stretch.

We have spoken with building’s owner again and the noise/schedule issue has been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews