We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$41
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$38
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$41
US$28
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Expedia.comUS$38
Trip.comUS$34
eDreamsUS$41
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
150
44
18
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
150
44
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle minute walk alona beach quiet location nice pool the main beach area complimentary breakfast dirt road wonderful stay plenty of sunbeds stayed for nights hot water stayed longer large bathroom a king size bed swimming pool is beach front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020

My review of the Scent of Green Papaya Resort/Hotel in Panglao, Bohol, Philippines. If you're looking for a great hotel to stay at that's economical and modern, look no further than this hidden gem of a resort. It's basically just a few blocks from the beach in the Alona Beach area of Panglao, Bohol in the Philippines. I stayed here in February, right when Covid was flaring up and they were shutting down borders.

I booked the room using Agoda.com and paid about $60USD/night for a Superior King Room, which included a custom made breakfast every morning. The resort/hotel is about a five minute walk from the main road where the hustle and bustle is of Alona Beach, but if you don't feel like walking, they do have a shuttle taking you back and forth from the main road, which is lined with American-style restaurants (including McDonald's if that's your thing), as well as souvenir shops, tour kiosks etc.

The front desk staff was super cool and reminded me to choose my breakfast each evening so they could prepare it fresh for me in the morning. Also, they helped me call a ride for the ferry and also were amazing helping me book tours, including a snorkeling tour.

I had a great stay and highly recommend this place if you're looking for something different. This place even had a Balinese feel to it. There are lots of hotel options in Alona Beach, many of which are five times the price of this hotel. So if you're looking for something quaint, quiet and cool, give Scent of Green Papaya a try! I would definitely stay here again if I were ever to return to Alona Beach.

Feel free to check out my channel if you would like to see a video walk-through of my room and the hotel grounds.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

We would not stay here again - mainly due to location.
Pros
Nice pools which are well maintained
Good sized balcony with table and chairs
Lots of loungers around the pool with towels supplied
Breakfast is brought in from elsewhere, so need to advise night before what you want
We had some problems with our rooms and maintenance guy was there promptly to try to fix it.
Only 2 small bottles of water in the room - not replaced daily. Water cooler in restaurant for refilling.
Cons
Plumbing - Our room had no consistent hot water - despite maintenance man working on it; also foul sewer smell in bathroom
Location - walking distance to Alona Beach is about 30 minutes- 10 minutes by free shuttle; Part of road is very rough for walking especially in the dark.
Safe in both our rooms was not working until we advised them.
Overheard manager arguing with another guest. The issue was discrepancy between Agoda and their website about free breakfast for a child who was 3rd person in the room. She was telling guest it was up to him to get it changed on Agoda. Poor customer service in my opinion.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank trvhapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Papaya, General Manager at Scent of Green Papaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Good afternoon and thank you for this complete review.

Thank you for the pros you noticed during your stay.

About the cons, we do apologize for the different problems you did encountered. Problem of battery with the safe should have been noticed before your checking, the information will be added to the check in process.
For the plumbing problem, it is something that we are unfortunately always working on, due to local regulation regarding sewer and also during very high season the hot water can supply a lower temperature as you experienced. New solar water heater are to be installed during the year.

Now about our breakfast, we do "a la carte'' the day before for a better organisation everyday and be able to serve you in the morning faster. We do all our breakfast on site, only fresh baguette and croissant are served fresh every morning.

The walking distance to the beach is a 20 min by feet. The shuttle is a 6 min ride to the drop off place at Alona beach area. ( 900 meter from the resort).

We do give plastic bottle only once per check in, for environmental reason we provide a free hot and cold refilling at the restaurant area available 24/7 , it saves around 1100 bottle a month, which is quite important in this country.

About Agoda rules, free child stay are for free and without breakfast, like that the corresponding breakfast can be ordered if needed. As a matter of fact, TripAdvisor rules are about your experience in the resort, and not about what other guests experienced or however we settle the rules in our establishment, which are based of years of accommodations.

Thanks again for your complete point of view that will definitely help us to add some control upon checking.

Thanks again for your stay in our establishment from all he team SOGPR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

We were traveling in a group of 5 friends and rented two rooms from this hotel. I lived in upstairs suite with two of my friends and the room was perfect for us. Large enough balcony to host all 5 of us and the bedrooms were very clean and pretty large. Beds great and quiet place to sleep. In our room the AC was located perfectly so you really can't have a flu even if you forget it a bit too cold. That's a huge plus from my point of view :)
Pool was clean and you could start sunbathing first thing in the morning because the sun is shining right from the morning till evening. Off course there are shade options also.
Breakfast was well organized and good.
Staff was very friendly.
Location was nice, about 7min walk to the beach and there is even a free shuttle service that leaves every 30min.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Voyage41493849157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and tried to stay longer but they were fully booked. Loved everything about this place, peaceful, relaxing, great happy staff, the food was also excellent. The pool was great and very well maintained and just a lovely place to sit round to chill. We hired a moped but the shuttle to town is great too. We liked that this had a welcoming feel to it and all in all the accommodation was really comfortable. We moved on to a large hotel Hennan which has turned out to be everything SOGP wasn't!!!!!!!!! We know where we would rather be thanks Yvonne and Michael.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Purplevongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

The hotel was at 100% occupancy and we were lucky to get an upstairs room.
The room was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed and all of the rooms faced 1 of the 2 pools. Nice balcony with table and chairs and a washing line. WiFi was good.
Plenty of sunbeds and the main pool was great if you like to swim.
The restaurant and bar were a bonus - happy hour very good prices !
The staff were amazing. Most days they were singing whilst doing their tasks - lovely to see people that seemed to really be happy with their work.
There is a free shuttle, every 30 mins to the beach but you can walk there in about 12 minutes.
(Albeit the first part is on an unmade section of the road) The driver also stopped on a couple of occasions when he saw us and asked if we wanted a lift - really thoughtful.
There is a lot of building work going on in the town.
Gia dealt with our booking and wasn’t phased by all the emails I sent ! Meeting her in person was lovely.
Chesca, Claudine, Mike, Phil all made us have an exceptionally relaxing stay. Check in and check out was excellent - particularly help with our bags and onward arrangements
400 peso from /to airport approx 12 mins.
The only slight downside to our stay was the cockerel next door which crowed constantly day and night. (Hard to believe really !)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank martine_floridahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews