We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
76
73
23
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
73
23
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2019 via mobile

We booked here for five nights in May but only ended up staying for three!

Everything seemed great on arrival. Apart from the abundance of mosquitoes (make sure you have bug spray if you choose to stay here.) The beds were comfortable, the air con was great and the shower had hot water.

On the second night we were greeted by what we believe was a large huntsman spider in our room! I am terrified of spiders so got up immediately and looked for someone who could help. The only person available was the security guard who first told us he wouldn’t help, then eventually came to our aid. He hit the spider on the floor where it just scurried under the floor boards. I had almost a sleepless night wondering if it would show it’s face again.

I told the receptionist about our experience the next morning and they didn’t seem to think this was a massive issue. I asked for some bug spray as a deterrent for the next night in the hope it would help me sleep better.

We went on a day trip that day and came back late after dinner/drinks to find more spiders in the room! Exactly what I had dreaded and this time they were bigger. As no one was on reception and the security guard had proved useless the day before, we had to look for another hotel because I couldnt have another sleepless night.

The next morning I came back and demanded my money back for the last two nights as this was unacceptable. We were reluctantly given a partial refund.

Unfortunately this has left a sour taste and I would not stay here again. They clearly have a nest of spiders above room three which needs to be dealt with. They should also invest in some mosquito nets because all sorts of other bugs can get into the gaps between the thatched roof and floorboards.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stephrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donfredoparis, Owner at Chill-Out Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2019

Dear Guest,
Sorry for late answer due to technical problems to reach our admin page here.
First of all we would like to apologize for your bad experience. It is true that our little place is a mix of native style with wood, nippa and bamboo and a bit of modern style also.
This type of construction can indeed bring some bugs from time to time but yes spiders can be very scary for some people.
Even if if doesn't change your perception and/or feeling, be assure that those type of spiders are totally harmless and maybe that is why the guard was not so impressed about it as they are used to it here.
In any case, following your bad experience,we have indeed spray the totality of the building in order to get rid as much as possible of those insects.
Spray bomb are available at any time at the reception and we are studying the best way to input mosquito nets in the rooms.
Sorry for your bad experience, we are taking serious note of it in order to improve our place for future guests.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2019

A great, basic accommodation near Alona beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi was fast and worked well. There is a free tricycle service to the main strip between 6pm and 10pm each evening, but to be honest we just walked most of the time (about 15 mins). The pathways are well lit and not dangerous. There is a small convenience store across the street from the hotel. For what you pay for the rooms, this place is fantastic.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamdanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2019

Clean rooms, nice walk to the beach, lovely staff. We hired a motorbike to explore Bohol which was amazing. The rooms were nice and clean. Very reasonably priced. Another good trip was to see the whale sharks. All round an amazing stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackLemon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2019

We stayed here last March 4-8 and upon arriving from the Panglao International Airport, the staff immediately attended to our requests. Its location is a bit out of way and the street isn't paved yet. One thing I noticed in this area, in general, is that the price of meals was steep. (Minimum P200+) Good thing we found an eatery beside a restaurant named as "Jasz Minimart" in Google Maps (but they have a different name now). They sell a wide variety of viands and in the evening they grill meats like isaw, BBQ, liempo, atay, etc.
For other cheap eats, explore what the nearby Alona Beach Road has to offer.

Our room was located on the ground floor, facing the wall with a makeshift mini garden. It was quiet except for the occasional passing tricycles and motorcycles from nearby inns. The room and bed were spacious and adorned with wooden accessories. I just don't think wooden floors work well when used in bathrooms. And the heavy footsteps of occupants in the room above us slightly bothered us because we can hear every creek and scuffle. But as the days passed by, we didn't really mind as much since we were too tired to notice haha! Towels and bedsheets will be changed upon request only so keep this in mind and ask for new towels before you go out. A nice bamboo daybed is located in front of every room and adds a chill vibe to the place. There's no bidet in the bathroom, but you do have a heated shower and they make it a point to give you a new tissue roll every day.
We booked the room via Agoda for Php 6000, good for 5 days.

You can also rent motorcycles here. We rented a Yamaha Mio @ Php 500 and Honda Click @ Php 650.

I definitely recommend this place because even though it's not perfect, you'd definitely feel like you're on vacation without spending a ton on your accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

Well the room of our bungalow was ok.
It was large with a comfortable bed...But now i understand why they haven‘t published any pics of the bathroom - for these price we can really ask something more.!!
Generally the philippines are too overpriced for sleeping areas - in Thailand or Malaysia we slept for that money more than 3-4 days ..

Loved the dogs there :-) staff very friendly and give good suggestions!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DiDa9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donfredoparis, Owner at Chill-Out Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Dear Guests,
Well you paid 1,600 php for a private aircon bungalow with private bathroom.
Trust us it is a very good price for panglao. For sure one of the best value for money.
Yes if you compare to thailand or malaysia, prices generally in the Philiipines are a bit higher, but simply because pur costs are higher also.
The staff is paid way much than other countries. There is labor and environmental control, very strict also.
So, after it is also your duty to check all those facts before you travel.
Therefore we find this comment quite abusive, as it is actually VERY GOOD FOR THE PRICE.
You should have compared with other accomodations around instead of comparing with other countries, this is too easy. Everything can be better elsewhere.
For the bathroom, it has just bit repainted, tiles changed etc......
Sorry we couldn't do it before your stay. We apologise for that.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews