We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Houmas House Plantation and Gardens
from US$28.03
More Info
from US$75.90
More Info
from US$169.00
More Info
from US$97.44
More Info
Reviews (1,927)
Filter reviews
1,927 results
Traveler rating
1,508
282
74
27
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,508
282
74
27
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop our tour guide bette davis new orleans river road live oaks southern charm mint juleps oak trees baton rouge the main house step back in time civil war great tour worth the trip plantation burnside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,927 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Good COVID protocols in place. Everyone on tour wore a mask. On a weekday afternoon the grounds were very peaceful and you can take as much time as you want to walk about. The entire area is well-maintained with lots of interesting sculptures and beautiful live oaks. The tour guide of the mansion was amazing, very knowledgeable.

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank zooismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Excellent tour, absolutely one of the best. Cheryl was our tour guide and went out of her way to give us intimate, trivial details related to Houmas House. Highly recommend!

Thank patperduej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessLamb, Director of Sales at Houmas House Plantation and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear we lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2021

The tour was great except it’s like the tour guide avoided talking about the slaves. We only saw abs talked about the history of the house and artifacts. I went to a plantation to hear about the slaves. The tour guide was great but they need to include the complete history when talking about History

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank laquandahoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessLamb, Director of Sales at Houmas House Plantation and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Thank you for your review. Our narrative is about the architecture, the lifestyle, the sugar industry, the gardens, the art and artifacts throughout the Estate. Each plantation house has its own niche and this is ours. Our website, social pages and marketing materials all describe what visitors can expect when coming to Houmas House. We tell our complete 250 year history in only 60 minutes. It's impossible to dive deeply into one time period with such a short amount of time to cover it all. We are glad you enjoyed the tour overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Great Cottage! We had a wonderful, romantic evening at Houma’s house. The amenities in our cottage were outstanding. Great linens and furnishings. Cocktails at the Turtle Bar a must. Dinner was elegant and top notch. Highly recommend. If not staying for the night, don’t miss the Turtle Bar. We have been coming here for years. Sunday brunch also a must.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

We acted after reading the ad in Where Traveler Magazine. The ad misled us to believe the fine dining restaurant was open every day. IT IS NOT. We went for the Lamb as shown in the ad. However the lamb is not available at the casual restaurant which is open daily.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Rngdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessLamb, Director of Sales at Houmas House Plantation and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

We are sorry you were disappointed in our menu. The menu is changed seasonally and items are switched out regularly. The lamb in particular is a signature entree in the fine dining restaurant, Latil's Landing. All of our menus are updated and are housed on our website so people aren't surprised upon arrival. We clearly state the hours of each restaurant and have easy links to each menu. We provide this information so visitors don't have to call us daily to ask about dining updates/changes and reservations. We hope the rest of your visit exceeded expectations. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews