We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$64
View deal
Wyndham$64
Booking.com$64
Hotels.com$64
Priceline$64
Travelocity$64
Lol.travel$76
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
3
4
1
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
4
1
0
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 12 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2021

The new manager and his wife are professional and customer-oriented. They are in the process of upgrading the hotel with new furniture, cleanliness, and great customer service.

They have repeatedly asked if there was anything we needed or if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable.

On this five-week trip through six states. we have stayed in more expensive hotels but none have been as professional or as accommodating as the management at this Super 8.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlampDocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2021


GlampDocker,

On behalf of my entire team, We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for noticing the recent updates that we have made to our hotel. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. Best of luck on your trip and we look forward to seeing you when you return. Take care and stay safe as you travel back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2021

5 stars for amazing customer service provided by management and staff at the Wyndham Super 8 in Independence, Kansas.
Every hotel/motel has it's pros and cons. There were a few issues with our room that I have gotten with higher ups about and hope to resolve.
I had my children with me and they loved our stay.
The pool was so clean and my kids had a wonderful time. We were even invited to participate in the 4th of July festivities at the hotel.
Management went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
The owner on the other hand has some work to accomplish.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Msentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021


Msentre,

Thank you for taking the time to share this five-star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. We are glad that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! It is great to hear that your kids enjoyed our swimming pool and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2021

This hotel is under new management after a poor reputation. Believe it was the manager who checked us in and he was very nice and accomodating; he also followed up with us after we checked in to be sure all was ok. He did admit the hotel was going thru renovations so if anything wasn't working to let him know for immediate corrections.

The room had some small things I could get past - stains on the carpet, cigarette hole on the comforter. The area was quiet, I felt safe, it was clean and the bed was very comfy for my 1 night stay. I'd stay there again

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2021

Yolovesthesun90,


Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that you highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel at home just like the last time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2021

We came to town on personal business, the price was the best at any Super 8 we previously stayed at. The Clerks were friendly, informative and helpful (Especially Carly) They even went out of their way to make us fresh coffee on several occasions. We ended up staying there 5 nights, the maid was there everyday and even on the days we told her we didn't need service she was quick to bring fresh towels and dump trash with a friendly smile. I realize it could have been difficult since they were having lots of new furniture being delivered and remodeling going on. The day after we left we stayed in a Super 8 in Colorado. It cost us more for one night in Colorado than for 3 nights in Independence, for half the room size and unfriendly employees.

Room tip: Rooms facing the front are best
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulGardner530
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2021

Hi PaulGardner530,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our
hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and we were able to provide a comfortable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2021

Staff was rude and unprofessional. Let their kids run up and down the hall all evening and right after midnight let them shoot fireworks off right under our window then when we complained about the dirty room and the noisy kids after midnight they made excuses and refused to resolve the issue. Wouldnt even acknowledge us. We ended our stay early with them and went across the street to the Comfort inn and got SO MUCH better service. And it was so much cleaner and professional and accommodating.

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelby28Warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tina M, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Independence, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2021

Shelby28Warren,

Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. I want to apologize for the kid's noises that disturb your rest, All Front Desk Clerks are instructed and trained on how to handle these types of issues and I'm very sorry they failed to correct this problem for you. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews