We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
COOL bananas

We were told by our host that the visit @ "la maison de la banane" was a must to do in the area and... read more

Reviewed 15 January 2016
492PaoloG
,
Montpellier, France
via mobile
Loved this stop!

So glad we decided to make this banana plantation. Well worth the visit! Lady spoke english. She... read more

Reviewed 9 February 2018
Fbroz
,
League City, Texas
Read all 89 reviews
  
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
29
35
14
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
35
14
8
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This is just east of the intersection of D8 and N1 in Trois-Rivières. The sign on the side of N1 says "Musée" de la Banane, not "Maison". The visit starts with a video on the banana industry. Then there is a self-guided tour of the museum, a tasting of two different kinds of bananas and a visit to the boutique. The tour finishes with a guided walk through the banana plantation and botanic garden. It is mainly in French but the tour guide and the other tourists do their best to try to help you understand.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank ChuckPMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We were told by our host that the visit @ "la maison de la banane" was a must to do in the area and so we did. As soon as we paid the entrance fee we were given a banana (you gotta love bananas to visit this place) to taste. We were taken to a part of the house where the history of the plantation was on display.. after reading the panels and discovering that banana is not a tree and loads of other things we were told to head back to the entrance. As soon as we got there another person showed us the way into the plantation where we were authorised to stroll at our own leasure. The visit all together was nice and knowing that you can safely walk around bananas (I am not using the tree word anymore ;)) and see how they develop and grow is very interesting. Of course the house at top of the hill with the view of the saints is a different story.. u just wish u could spend a few days there enjoying the pool (Ok.. there is no pool but if there was one I would love it there) :).
Only suggestion is that, while we enjoyed the stroll, it would have been nicer to be guided a bit more in the fields so that different characteristics of bananas can be explained.
At the end of the visit we were given another banana to taste.. a "banane tisane".. absolutely fantastic taste.. wish I had a plantation of them in my back garden :)

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank 492PaoloG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

8 euros, fun facts learned, fairly friendly guide, cool grounds to explore, awesome view from up top. Check it out if you're around the area!

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews