We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old English Interior Ambiance”

Hall's Tavern at Coventry
Ranked #13 of 815 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With an aura of Old Chicago, Hall's Tavern at Coventry invites you to come on in, slow down, and grab a beer. Tucked away and cozy, the dining rooms murmur with warmth, mellow conversation, and light that bounces in through stained-glass windows. Our menu appeals to any palate and beckons you to eat, stay, and be merry! Here, there's no rush, we're neighbors.
Reviewed February 3, 2020

Don Hall's has sixteen (16) different venues scattered across Fort Wayne. For me, the number of business being operated through this company reflect a positive testament to their success in doing food and drink right as well as treating their customers well. Four of us headed to the Tavern At Conventry on a Saturday noon. The Tavern is located in the Southwest quadrant of the city. They are located in Conventry Plaza at the intersection of Highway 69 and 24 (West Jefferson). Access to this restaurant is easy. They have plenty of free parking immediately surrounding their building. They were not terribly busy upon our arrival and we were given immediate seating. Coincidentally, some of our relatives were already seated and eating when we arrived. The staff was only too happy to pull another table over so that we could join them. Our waitress was quite affable. She quickly took and provided our beverage orders. After studying the comprehensive lunch menu, we made our selections which were in front of us in no time. We had their Fried Haddock Fillet sandwich with fries, their Broiled Hamburger Deluxe with cole slaw, their Vegetarian Skillet (an omelet with tomatoes, green onions, peppers, spinach, black olives, feta cheese, has browns and an English muffin), and a Chicken Sriracha sandwich (grilled & blackened chicken breast with grilled onion, mushrooms, Swiss cheese, lettuce and sriracha mayo) with fries. I had the last, finding the chicken tender and moist. The sriracha mayo was fairly mild with just the hint of a kick. The fries had a light coating on them and were flavorful. Although we had stopped at the Tavern in the past, we were always just at the bar for beverages and conversation. This was our first try at their food. The relatives that we met at the Tavern shared that they actually have been coming here once a week or, at least, every couple weeks over the past many years. A reflection that they enjoy this location and their food. We too had a good experience and no complaints with our meal. We will certainly be open to returning.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 367 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

Got a prime rib melt. I expect it to be the ends grilled and made a sandwich. I did not expect it to be dry and the the bread to be that grease soaked. French fries were cold. Just sad for what it could have been. The Makers Mark was good!

The people I was with got full heavy meals. They said they liked it. They had the chicken parm and the other the triggerfish. I guess I should have to. I didn’t know you can screw up a sandwich. Again to reiterate the Makers was good.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank NoblePG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 30, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here to eat dinner while my wife and I were on a shopping trip to Ft. Wayne. Had never been here before so we decided to try it. We were seated immediately in real cozy booth. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food arrived quickly and was very good. Will definitely dine here again when we visit Ft. Wayne again.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Joefarmer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

Really were surprised by the menu options and quality of the food that we received. We went there hearing that it was "just ok" and left there extremely satisfied. The service was very attentive and offered great suggestions. If you're staying at a hotel around the area, highly recommend the many options this restaurant has.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

Met my bestie for dinner. We haven't been to Hall's for awhile. And probably won't return anytime soon. 1) was seated and immediately noticed a bread plate was dirty, sent it with our server. 2) unwrapped silverware to find dirty silverware, 3) restrooms were awful. All of that should have been a sign to leave. Recieved our food, I had chicken tenders they were very salty and the fries tasted like old grease. My friend had a grilled chicken salad and she said the chicken had a funny taste. Our server never asked if our meals were satisfactory and never offered drink refills. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Hall's Tavern at Coventry also viewed

 

Been to Hall's Tavern at Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.