We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
130
5
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
5
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan adventureworth every pennycoho salmonhorseback ridingsea ottersexceeded all expectationsleft us feelingexceptional foodtravel insurancevancouver airportseaplane flightvarious activitiestentcampluxurybearsaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 142 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

You arrive here by seaplane ,weather permitting. I must admit to feeling rather nervous on arrival as we were staying for seven days. I was concerned that we would get bored or be thrust too closely together with other guests which has happened on a previous holiday. I needn't have worried. All bar one of the activities that we chose to do were completely on our own with our own guide and we certainly weren't bored.
The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. It is well worth opting for an en-suite room as they are much lovelier inside and better situated.
The food is exceptional. There is a set menu which doesn't change but the delightful chefs are more than happy to make you whatever you want.
There are activities to suit everyone and they are tailored to suit your own agenda. Some of these are obviously weather permitting so may not always be available. We had wonderful weather when we were there but I know that they have many more rainy day activities planned than before.
There is a generosity of spirit prevailing in this resort. There are things they could charge extra for but don't and you can do as many activities as you want on your departure day.
The staff are energetic,enthusiastic and delightful.Nothing is too much trouble. I wanted to write an objective review but I must mention two outstanding members of the Clayoquot team. Theresa,the sommelier is superlative and the incomparable Nikki who made sure our stay was everything and more than we'd hoped for.
We loved our stay,a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Baedeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Glamping at its best! Our family stayed in the gorgeous, ensuite tents with heated bathroom floors. Everything was perfect. The gourmet food was amazing from breakfast to dinner. Can't wait to return. I hope they continue to add more activities and hone their attentiveness to details.

Room Tip: We loved the ensuite heated floor bathroom tents.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

From the take off in Vancouver til touchdown on return, a magical experience, A special place on this planet. Wonderful place to celebrate an event. Surroundings are just awesome as are activities designed to enjoy surroundings. Restaurant superb. Staff superb.. All around from kitchen, to guides.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank NSA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

I had the opportunity to spend four days at this beautiful resort with the family I work for (I’m a Nanny), which was one of [if not] the best vacation experience we’ve ever had! The 360 degree views of open wilderness, the luxurious tent accommodations, and the plethora of activities was awesome, but ultimately, it was the incredible staff and guides that made the experience so memorable! From tree climbing, archery, horseback riding, rock climbing, river/sea kayaking, skeet shooting, paintball, helicopter rides, etc...we never ran out of things to do. Our group is a little on the competitive side, which made our daily activities even more fun and entertaining, especially for our guides (special shout out to Marc, Phil, Joel, Amanda, Stevie, Joe, Alex, Kap, Nikki, Lauren, Carl, Skippy, and Megan). They were always up for whatever. The food was delicious and was always tailored to the liking for both adults and children. (Chef Justin’s asparagus risotto was amazing and Teresa beautifully paired our meals with the best wines.) Everyone always aimed to please and treated us like family - can’t say enough about this place. Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is an incredibly special place and we can’t wait to go back! Thank you for everything Sarah - the Dicksons miss you all!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssmith2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

What an incredibly amazing experience!! The only way to get there, is by water plane. You land on a river in de middle of nowhere, as far as u can see there are only trees, mountains and just beautiful nature. they provide a very warm welcome where the entire staff introduces themselves and the activities they are responisble for. There are lots of nice activities to do and the staff are very friendly aswell. Its an amazing location, into the wild, all you have is the nature around you. I thank the founder for creating such an amazingly beautiful and serene location. We saw black bears while we wear biking and went on a sealife tour where we saw seaotters and sealions. It was just an amazing experience and destination.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews