We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
US$90
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thistle Inn(Cumnock)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
313
146
53
32
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
146
53
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdumfries armsitison deallovely hoteldeluxe roomhigh standardsteak piereception areaafternoon teafirst classbar pricesfood was lovelyan overnight staystaff were lovelyeggs benedictreception staffsoupwedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Went to this hotel on a itison deal. Lovely hotel but recommend paying extra for an upgrade room which was very spacious with lovely bathroom.. The staff are very friendly and dinner was very enjoyable. Also very good breakfast

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Given an overnight stay with dinner as a birthdayt present. Arrived at the hoteland right away very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the building and furnishings. The main building is 300 years old with a very modern extenstion completed and no expense spared. Very nice room with modern furnishing and nice en suite. very good choice of meals on the menu for evening dinner which was well cooked and very well served by pleasant staff. The breakfast menu was so varied that we had difficulty in deciding and eventually ordered the ommelette which was perfection to a tee.Very attentive staff with attention to detail/
The owners of the Dumfries Arms Hotel are to be complimented on their business acumen and have really pulled it off with this little gem. We will most definatlly be back for another stay when we intend to visit Dumfries house which is nearby. Best hotel experiance in a long time. Recommended to family and they have now booked to experience how a hotel should be run.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I am not quite sure how to start this review as we are still overwhelmed by how well everything went. I cannot recommend the Dumfries Arms HIGHLY enough for a wedding. The team are first class, professional and experts in the field.

John the Chef and of course his team but John produced and executed the most delicious meal with resounding feedback. My mother is still raving about the canapes

Heather – what a lovely hospitable young lady who absolutely knows her stuff and incredibly endearing. Once again the feedback for Heather and the team was full of praise.

Morag – Reception Manager who runs the reception with efficiency and professionalism. A friendly, welcoming team and nothing is too much trouble.

Sylvia – what a hardworking and genuinely nice lady who is worth her weight in gold. To transform the end of an evening room to an immaculately dressed room fit for purpose takes excellent planning and time management and she did not disappoint.

Finally, the pièce de résistance, Caroline. I cannot begin to say how faultless our day was from start to finish. Caroline was utterly outstanding. From the minute we arrived to the minute we retired, Caroline was with us every step of the way. Her meticulous attention to detail shone throughout the event. The food was superb, the staff attentive, well-mannered, and respectful. Nothing was too much trouble, and someone made a statement to myself and Garry “Whatever this woman is being paid it is not enough. That young lady is liquid gold. She is superb at her job, her attention to detail is second to none and I hope the Dumfries Arms realise what an excellent asset she is” Both myself and Garry have to concur – she is all these things and more. When we first met, we were to say the least nervous. Caroline surpassed all our expectations and for all of us, she will stand out and be treasured for making Meghan and Marks special day so incredibly memorable.

To each an everyone at the Dumfries Arms Hotel, thank you so very very much. We had a beautiful day, the Good Lord brought the sun out for us and everything went as it should. Best wishes to all.

Mr & Mrs Garry Savage

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roseanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night on business and have to say pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel for the price and the restaurant was even better value for money.
I can highly recommend this as a fantastic stopover

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2018

My Wife and I recently got married here on the 7th of April. From arriving at the hotel from the church right up until check out we had an amazing experience. The rooms are great, very clean and spacious.

Our wedding co-ordinator Caroline was fantastic! Having only met with her 5 weeks before our big day she made us feel so comfortable and at ease about how the day would run.

On the day this carried right on through from the initial meeting and I have never met someone so invested in her job and making us feel so comfortable! She has a brilliant team of staff surrounding her and we cannot thank them all enough. I was amazed when it was around 00.45 and she was still in the building. We had an amazing day and are very thankful for the work the staff put in.

Beautiful setting for a wedding and could not recommend enough!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BMcGahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews