We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely memorial.”

Vietnam Veterans Fountain
Reviewed 6 October 2018

As visitors from Scotland we came across this lovely memorial during our riverwalk, for those people in the arrned forces from Illinois, who lost their lives in the war in Vietnam.

There is a rectangular fountain, with several jets, and a large wall at the back of it, with the names of the all servicemen who died in Vietnam War and a plaque with 'Chicago Remembers',

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river walk"
in 3 reviews
"fallen heroes"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful memorial"
in 2 reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 2 reviews
"small memorial"
in 2 reviews
"state street"
in 2 reviews
"chicago river"
in 3 reviews
"war"
in 4 reviews
"sacrifice"
in 3 reviews
"monument"
in 5 reviews
"riverwalk"
in 8 reviews
"reminder"
in 2 reviews
"tribute"
in 2 reviews
"fought"
in 3 reviews
"plaques"
in 3 reviews
"illinois"
in 4 reviews
"reflection"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

As a Navy vet of that era I am glad that those that fought and died are remembered. Unfortunately the fountain was not working and the tribute seemed less important to the city now than when it was first erected.

It is a solemn reminder of the casualties of war and why the toll on humanity should never be forgotten.

Maybe when those that make war have to stand at the front and face their actions will we find a more peaceful solution.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank McWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This is a very respectful memorial along the riverwalk promenade. When we visited a number of people placing flowers and showing respect.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

If you are in the Loop area of the city the easiest way to find Vietnam Veterans Fountain would be to cross Wacker Dr from State St, then you go down the steps near the terraced lawn - and you''ll be at the level of the Chicago Riverwalk and you'll see a rectangular 14-jets fountain, with a large wall at the back of it, with the names of the 2,900 Illinois servicemen who died in Vietnam War, a plaque with 'Chicago Remembers', underneath which there's a wall sculpture of Vietnam Service Medal.

The Fountain was opened in 2005.

When I was there last weekend, the weather was very sunny and warm, and there were many people at the fountain area, of all ages, quietly reading the veterans names on the wall. Parents were explaining to their children what this memorial is about. The whole place had a quiet, peaceful, almost serene atmosphere, some tourists were sitting on the slopes (and benches) of the terraced lawn.

I had a feeling that this whole area of the memorial and the fountain could be better maintained (dark stains from mold and algae at some parts of the wall, some trash near the fountain, etc).

Regardless, Chicago knows how to pay tribute to its veterans.

Yes, Chicago does remember.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank irina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately the fountain was turned off and covered for the winter, but what a wonderful memorial for our Vietnam Veterans.

I can see how beautiful this would be at night with the lights on and the serenity of The Chicago river just steps away.

This is worth the side trip down the stairs.

Simple elegance.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Photoman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Veterans Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Veterans Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing