We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Terrific

Booked one of the tours and it was amazing! Absolutely loved it, highly recommended if your looking... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
the_onlymauro
Wonderful Twilight Tour

This was a lot of fun and was a unique way to see the city! Not a strong current, so you don't... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
amberkI2387TV
Read all 521 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chicago
from US$23.00
More Info
from US$44.69
More Info
from US$27.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
424
82
7
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
424
82
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicago river kayaking experience sunset tour tandem kayak busy river life vests experience chicago unique perspective a lot of fun vantage point chicago history our tour guide great guide super fun kayakers paddling boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I chose to do the beginners kayaking experience as I had never kayaked before, and I was disappointed with the overall experience. Our guide was not enthusiastic about his job at all and for the entire hour out on the water, I was about 30 metres behind him trying hard to keep up. The city is absolutely beautiful and I think that if you've kayaked before, this would be a great experience to have! Unfortunately I had to spend the whole time catching up with the guide and felt totally underwhelmed at the end.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank simonjohn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Saw Urban Kayak on several trips we have made to Chicago in the past, but never had time to do it. Decided it was a "bucket list" activity, so we decided to get some friends together for a weekend trip completely dedicated & planned around kayaking with Urban Kayak; all other weekend activities took backseat to kayaking. We visited the Chicago Riverwalk location.

After the relatively short 3 hour drive from Green Bay, I did the Intro Paddle with a friend on Saturday afternoon. I have paddled numerous times before, but he had never been in a kayak. It was the perfect "welcome to the Chicago River" experience for me and allowed my friend to get some great basic instruction while trying things out. Shout out to instructor/guide Connor for a great job. His patience really showed (especially with some other very inexperienced paddlers).

Saturday night, four of us did the Ultimate Fireworks paddle. The tour included several stops in downtown first, to hear about different buildings & other interesting tidbits about the river. We finished out the night just beyond the Lakeshore Drive Bridge to enjoy the fireworks by Navy Pier. Again, shout out to the guide. I forgot his name, but he was fantastic with telling us stories & facts along the way.

Sunday afternoon we returned for yet another paddle. This time the Historic Chicago tour. Trevor was our guide & really knew his stuff! We made it farther this time than on the other tours. Much of the information shared by Trevor was the same as during the Ultimate Fireworks paddle the night before, however it was neat to see stuff in the sunshine, also.

Overall, an amazing experience. Highly recommend to anyone who might be interested in slipping away from the chaos of the streets above. The website wasn't very clear, but all of the tours are basically the same (at least from the Riverwalk location). Same course, same info. If the website spelled that out a little better, we may not have repeated so much.

Staff was all great. Not only the instructors/guides, but the staff checking you in as well as the guys on the docks as well. Everyone was pleasant, helpful, and courteous. After each tour, every single staff that we encountered thanked us for paddling with them. To me, this says a ton about the company right there!

Kayaks were pretty standard. We all used singles, but there were also tandems available. Paddle was a little long for me, but for the length & type of trip it certainly did it's job. On the Saturday evening paddle, one of the foot pegs wouldn't stay where I wanted it, and there was an issue with the seat always wanting to almost recline. Again, nothing I couldn't deal with. I didn't remember or really have a chance to point it out after the trip with dozens of paddlers being assisted out of the water in very quick order.

Worthy of a visit, whether novice or experienced paddler. Definitely will be visiting again, perhaps at the Monroe Harbor location next! Also likely to buy a season pass in 2019!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We booked an 815pm kayak/firework tour last minute with Urban Kayaks. It was incredible! Entirely worth the money. The location on Riverwalk is scenic, but once on the water the views are amazing. The launch was a well-oiled machine. Our tour guide Trevor was informative and easy to hear. His information made the tour that much better. We had 3 guides total to make sure we were safe on the water on such a busy night. Other tour groups didn’t have this. The fireworks from the water was the best part of the tour! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This was definitely a highlight of our trip. We did the guided tour, which helped with regards to the boat traffic as our guide could contact the boats to ensure our safety. I was an inexperienced kayaker and that didn’t matter. Our guide Connor was really fun and made sure we learned some cool information about the city while having some laughs. We also did the architecture boat tour the day before, and I was happy to learn information that was not on the boat tour! Definitely do this!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jessrose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We got a tandem kayak and did the fireworks tour. We are experienced kayakers and so the limited supervision on the river was fine, but novices should make sure they tell the leader of their needs. It was a blast to see the buildings from water level. The tour with narration about the architecture was quite good. Then, we ended by watching the fireworks from the boats as the pyrotechnics were shot off Navy Pier. It was a fun night and while you will get wet, you don't get soaked.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank nskaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews