We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,986)
Filter reviews
1,986 results
Traveler rating
920
642
285
85
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
920
642
285
85
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location front desk the magnificent mile michigan avenue water tower place hancock building rush street older hotel comfortable bed the gold coast valet parking mag mile mini bar downtown chicago great room corner room coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,986 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Pros: They give you a place to put your baggage before and after check out. Cons: Wallpaper coming off the walls, and carpet looks like it was torn up in one area. The ceiling has cracks in it, Window sills are chipped everywhere and the bed was pretty uncomfortable. Talked to another lady in the elevator and she said her room looked run down too and that she was also disappointed with this hotel also. The tile in her bathroom was coming up. (Luckily for us the bathroom was the one area that looked like what we paid for.) We were both pretty upset that this hotel was not what was advertised to us. And that this this 4 Star hotel was more like a 2 star , if that.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank lindsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you very much "Lindsjoy" for letting us know about your past stay with us! I am very upset to hear that you did not enjoy the room you had while staying with us, as that is one of the most important things when staying in a hotel. We will be addressing the room issues you experienced to ensure all of our rooms are presented in an appropriate manner to each guest. Should you wish to discuss the issues you experienced in more detail, you may contact me directly.

Thank you again for letting us know about the rom you stayed in and we do hope you are able to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

This hotel is so close to Michigan Ave, the Water Tower and anything else you would want to do downtown. As others have mentioned, it does carry history, i.e., slightly dated carpeting and decor, also a bit sparse on the lighting and outlet placement and no in-room coffee (have to go down to the lobby for that). Temperature control was somewhat inconsistent in my room for an unseasonably cold day but nothing to complain about. After I checked out, I exchanged my luggage with the guys up front for a ticket so I could spend my last few hours in the city until I was ready to go. That all said, this place met my expectations in terms of cleanliness and service, at a location that really couldn’t be beat.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank leek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehallConcierge, Concierge at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

leek90 thanks for visiting The Whitehall Hotel. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and "great location" in the heart of the Gold Coast neighborhood! We sure love our prime location too. Our hotel was founded in 1928 and is proudly registered as one of the "Historic Hotels of America." Our staff all take great pride in providing a warm and welcoming experience for our guests and we're so pleased to hear that you received this service! Thanks so much for your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

The hotel is well ocated in Down Town of Chicago, but nothing more
Rooms, kitchen, staff are very low
Neither european power sockets in the room, nor adaptors at the front desk
Resataurant is closed in the afternoon, maybe they eat only breakfast and supper....?
Elevators are so slow and too few for huge building
Extremely overpriced!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank l2018991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do not offer European adaptors but there are plenty of places around the area to purchase one if needed. We do have two restaurants on property, Fornetto Mei offering breakfast and dinner and Mei's Corner offering lunch and dinner options. I apologize if these options were not clear to you while on property.

Again we greatly appreciate your feedback and as we work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay to the fullest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Fantastic hospitality and service thanks to the staff. Alysson helped secure a room for us last minute due to a failed airbnb. She was super helpful and friendly. Kudos to her and the whole team! Amazing hotel

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jasonleeweihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehallConcierge, Concierge at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

jasonleeweihan thanks for visiting The Whitehall Hotel. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel in the heart of the Gold Coast neighborhood! Our staff, like Allyson, all take great pride in providing a warm and welcoming experience for our guests. We're delighted to hear that Allyson was so "AmaAAAAZING" and offered such "fantastic hospitality" to help accommodate your needs. Allyson is one of our industry's rising stars! Thanks so much for your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The location of the Whitehall made it perfect for our three-day stay in Chicago
It was a five min. walk to the best shopping on Magnificent Mile, to great sights like art galleries, to super restaurants like the Cheesecake Factory and rooftop bars and vistas like the top of the Hancock Bldg. My daughter left her ’doggy’ there and their security took it to the post office and sent it back it us. Incredible service like this can be counted on at the Whitehall on Deleware. I strongly recommend this reasonably priced downtown hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Hollisuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehallConcierge, Concierge at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Hollisuei thanks for visiting The Whitehall Hotel. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our "fabulous boutique hotel" in the heart of the Gold Coast neighborhood! We sure love our prime location too. Our hotel was founded in 1928 and is proudly registered as one of the "Historic Hotels of America." Our staff all take great pride in providing a warm and welcoming experience for our guests and we're delighted to hear that our security team provided such "incredible service." Thanks so much for your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews