We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey...but Good”

Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 76 Restaurants in Waycross
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Small seafood restaurant chain in Southeast Georgia.
Restaurant details
Description: Small seafood restaurant chain in Southeast Georgia.
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Think one of the previous reviews had mentioned the prices had went up recently... if not for the price I would have given it a "Very Good'. I had the Catfish Meal for $14.25. That was one large catfish, fries, salad bar and a drink. Guess I'm the type that feels that when I eat catfish, everything else is just trimming. If I wanted to fill up on salad... I'd have the salad bar and nothing else. The salad bar was okay, the french fries were okay. Something was wrong with the Dr Pepper that day so I had to drink Pepsi... which was okay. The hush-puppies and catfish were good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chas-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H, Front Office Manager at Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you Chas-GA for leaving a review. We are sorry that you weren't happy with the catfish for the price. We do hope to see you again. Thanks, Captain Joe's Seafood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We had been driving for several hours and both looking for something to eat. Saw the sign of captain Joes. It was already after three in the afternoon and we both decided to get an entree with the salad bar and soup.
I had chicken fingers and our young server said you get a side with that. All right. I settled for the sweet potato fries. My friend had the fish and choose the baked sweet potato. SURPRISE. the fries were and extra 99 cents for some thing I really had no desire for in the first place. This was only discovered on checking the bill. Our young server took the the extra charge off the bill and I made sure she got the extra buck in her tip. Good food good service

Thank MrBean30453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H, Front Office Manager at Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you MrBean30453 for the great review. We love our customers and we are so glad that we made you feel at home. Our soup and salad bar as well as fresh seafood is a favorite of locals. Not sure why there was a .99 charge for the fries but I'm glad that it was taken care of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, Captain Joe's Seafood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

A little more casual than we were expecting which was fine with us, but the food was a little pricey. Generous portions and a great soup and salad bar. They were out of a couple fish items on the menu which several people in our party wanted. The food was okay but not at all what we were expecting for the price. Our server was friendly and personable.

Thank Jro2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H, Front Office Manager at Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you Jro2480 for the review. Our AYCE soup, salad and dessert bar is included in the price of our seafood entrees. Our casual dining is perfect for families. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, Captain Joe's Seafood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

One of the best salad and soup bars in Waycross. Place needs to be updated, but food is normally very good.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H, Front Office Manager at Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you MarkD for the review. We love our customers and we are so glad that we made you feel at home. Our soup and salad bar as well as fresh seafood is a favorite of locals. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, Captain Joe's Seafood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I met up with family here because of the good food, variety, and relaxed atmosphere. The salad bar has something for everyone and a lot of the meals come with a side and the salad bar, which includes desserts. I've only ordered fried shrimp but want to venture out and get it blackened one day. My husband ordered the steak and it was ok, but nothing to write home about. Our sides were good (fried pickles, baked potato, & cheese grits). I wish I would've gotten the fried pickles. The waitress was just wonderful. She was friendly and remembered each of the extra requests we had (to go box, containers for sauces, etc).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drbsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H, Front Office Manager at Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you drbsti for the great review. All of our seafood is cooked to order and served by some of the best employees around. The blackened shrimp is one of my favorites, give it a try. We pride ourselves on excellent food and customer service. We can't wait to see you again soon. Thanks, Captain Joe's Seafood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Waycross, Georgia Coast
Waycross, Georgia Coast
 
Waycross, Georgia Coast
Waycross, Georgia Coast
 
Waycross, Georgia Coast
Waycross, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Captain Joe's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing