We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Korean barbeque”

Breakers Korean BBQ & Grill
Ranked #3 of 494 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: Barbecue, Korean, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We had a fun time cooking our own Korean barbeque. Food was great and the sides so delicious. The waiter was very informative.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jkrenehan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

My husband and I tried this restaurant out for the 1st time and it did not disappoint. We ordered the all you can eat, being it was our first time trying Korean food, we had to try everything lol. The service was great as well as the food. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kkpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 November 2018

1. Meat. They have a lot of options for AYCE, which was nice. But the quality of the meat is subpar. One round of kalbi strips was 1/3 pure fat. Neither the kitchen staff nor the waiter were bothered by this, and our waiter put it on the grill. Their spicy chicken was also made of weird cuts, including large strips of skin. It was so poorly seasoned that it was completely bland after cooking. The wine and garlic-marinated pork belly was also underwhelming. With the local competition of Korean BBQ, standards are high, especially for a place that markets itself as a fine-dining restaurant. The quality of the meat doesn't compare some of its competitors, and they certainly aren't offering anything refreshing.

2. Side dishes. Our reservation was early, so we were one of the first tables seated. When looking around, our side dishes looked less fresh than the other tables' side dishes. The kimchi looked dry, the bean sprouts were limp, the lettuce wilted. Our waiter told us that the side dishes are normally pre-plated, then refrigerated for easy, quick serving. Our miso soups arrived luke-warm as well.

3. Service. Our waiter admitted that he was new, so that might explain his inattention and mediocre service. We had to prompt him for drink refills, changing our charred grill, getting bowls of rice and soup. He'd ask what we wanted for the next round of meat, then return promptly with the opposite of what we asked for. He also didn't know what was on the menu and definitely not what was available at the bar. All of this is more reflective of poor training and management.

For anyone who has never had good Korean BBQ, this dining experience may pass as a good one if you overlook the fatty cuts of meat or the lackluster side dishes, especially given the price for AYCE. But I'm telling you that you can do much better.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gaceygace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Items were of reasonable varieties, service was good, quick and good food. Children also enjoyed with the food. Price reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gpojha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

So we went here after looking at TripAdvisor and saw it was #2 in Duluth. Didn’t look at anything else besides rating and # of reviews. It was a nice experience. Beautiful restaurant and beautifully presented food. We were presently surprised with the server to cook your meats at your table. And it’s all you can eat for $28. This is great if you eat any kind of meat. Since he and I only eat chicken, we spent a little too much in my opinion. But for the average person, this is a great group experience. No regrets but we can check it off our bucket list.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank aprils675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakers Korean BBQ & Grill also viewed

Peachtree Corners, GA
 

Been to Breakers Korean BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing