We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$115
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.comUS$123
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveler rating
339
328
260
158
168
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
328
260
158
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter course meal on the small side warner bros studio one night stay food was lovely twin room minute drive beautiful grounds wedding venue watford laura iron event marquee orangery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

Not a great deal to say really, average on about everything. Place is looking tired.
I reckon whoever chose the carpets were tripping on mind altering drugs.
Outside our bedroom window was an on sight car washing business, so we could not open our curtains, yes literally that close.
The breakfast was below par with Travel Lodge. Vegetarian option was very limited, a veggie sausage would of been nice and a choice of granary or whole meal bread would of been even nicer.
Kettle did not work properly in the room.
On the upside The Domestic Staff were on point and very helpful.
The grounds are beautiful.
Definitely not a 4 Star setting.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank peteri186387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Chaplin, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Hello peteri186387,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We apologise for your disappointing stay.

We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience and communication.

Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

We got married at Hunton Park on 8th September 2021. Third date lucky.
The day was absolutely fabulous! The food was really tasty and the day could not have gone smoother from start to finish. The staff set everything up as requested.
Special thanks to Laura, Anthony and the events team you did a fantastic job!
The grounds are spectacular!! Great photos!
The hotel did appear understaffed. The night before we were waiting a long while at the bar to be served, also there was no ice and it was 27 degrees outside!! - this was sorted by the evening however! We also asked for a couple of ice buckets on the morning of the wedding for three hours before we got them…we got them in the end but I would have expected seeing as it was my wedding day service to be faster..the champagne was getting warm!
Our rooms were ok. Definitely parts of the hotel are looking tired and outdated and could do with a refresh for sure.
Day after the wedding we managed to locate all our gifts and wedding stuff fairly easily! However some of the stuff was just shoved in to bags…a bit more care would have been nice. There was a mess up with payments and my maid of honour somehow had been charged for several of the guests rooms leaving her out of pocket. The reception staff were new and therefore the duty manager was called. He came swiftly and has ensured us the problem will be sorted.
Honestly before the day I was worrying as I have read very mixed reviews regarding the hotel, but for anyone having a wedding let me assure you the day will be beautiful! They did an amazing job with ours and I have no regrets it was stunning!
I do agree that there needs to be more staff, it appears it is running on Skeleton staffing which is effecting service and cleanliness for sure!!
Many thanks Hunton Park!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JodieHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Chaplin, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Hello Jodie,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We have had staffing issues during this very difficult time.

We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience and communication.

Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Booked this as close to Harry Potter Tour, and thought as it’s a Mercure it must be nice, oh my goodness “HOW WRONG WERE WE”!!!! We arrived and drove the impressive long driveway, greeted by the house, but signs direct you to the left, which takes you to a small car park, and what looks like a shabby motel entrance, not what I expected when I saw the hotel photo online. Booked in and reception staff member was pleasant and professional. Then we got to our room, we had booked a twin, and as we walked down the corridor we started to realise we should of booked elsewhere, picture frames on the wall were dusty, cobwebs everywhere, carpet in corridor was filthy and ruffled in lots of places (tripping hazard), we stayed in room 55, which was the last room, next to the entrance doorway to the rear service yard, and the carpet there was muddy brown with dirt. Then we get to the room……
Obviously was a double, two single beds, but the right hand one didn’t line up with the double headboard, and above your pillow is a wall light, which my wife hit her head on. The beds were very uncomfortable, as were the pillows. The small wardrobe hung over the bathroom doorway, the tea making area in the wardrobe unit had a cutout for a double socket, but no socket there, so must of come from somewhere else, so to make tea you needed to move the kettle to the desk. Only one coat hanger in the wardrobe, we left all our clothes in our suitcase as just didn’t want to unpack. The tv was hung on the wall but not secured, I caught the cable and only just caught it as it fell off the bracket. The bathroom door would only stay closed if you locked it from the inside. Our window looked out onto the yard, which was full of overflowing bins, rubbish, and shipping containers. Both the sink and shower had slow running drains, the shower was so bad, you had to turn the water off every couple of minutes to let it drain away as it overflowed onto the floor if you didn’t do this. No fire or safety instructions in our room, which I’m sure isn’t legal!!! Loads of coffee in the room, but no tea bags or milk, so had to go to reception to ask for some, must of been checked well. We had to book a time slot for breakfast, so booked 9am, arrived bang on time, only to be told there was no room for us as they were full, so what’s the point of booking a time slot? We were told we could take food and sit in the bar area, which only had low coffee style tables, we were given a tray to get our food and drinks, just loaded the tray, to then be told they had a table for us now. Overall really, really disappointed with our stay from arrival to departure. I will NEVER go back to this hotel………Ever!!

Room tip: Book somewhere else to get a good room!
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adriantapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Chaplin, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Hello Adriantapp,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Unfortunately, we have had staffing issues during this very difficult time.

We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience and communication.

Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Family trip (us plus 12 year old) using hotel as a base for visiting London and Harry Potter world
Arrived on Saturday around 2:30pm and checked in. Booked breakfast for 10:30am for both Sunday and Monday and the pool for the Sunday around 12:30pm. Advised that they would provide towels for the pool which we could pick up on the day.
Room was small - double bed plus put up bed for our 12 year old which gave us little space to move.
Bathroom quite modern and clean, as was the room. Plugs and USB connectors at the desk and next to bed. Hairdryer also provided as well as tea and coffee. There was an accessible HDMI connector on the TV which we used to plug in our fire stick.
After visiting London on the Saturday we decided to book a table for 8:30pm at the hotel. What we didn’t realise until we sat down that was due to staffing problems they were running a limited menu. Only 3 starters, mains and desserts were available and serving finished at 9pm. Fortunately we are quite laid back and ordered from what was on offer. The food was nice but a bit overpriced and because they were finishing at 9pm there was definitely a feeling they wanted you out of the restaurant by then.
The younger staff who were on worked really hard and it was clear at one point that the one looking after us had been shouted at by the supervisor for no reason we could determine, in front of all those in the restaurant at the time, leaving her close to tears.
Having finished up, our 12 year old wanted to and did tip the waitress out of his own money to add to the tip we left because he felt so sorry for her. This time she was close to tears for another more positive reason.
Having settled up we visited the bar. Prices not to bad but selection of beers limited. And one of them was off that night too. May have been due to the wedding that they were also catering for. It did seem like there was a lot of running about between the bar and wedding area by the same staff.
Whilst the bar was open late (11pm was last orders) it should have been open until midnight and it was due to the staffing that on both that and the following night we were asked for last orders well in advance of the advertised bar closing time of midnight. In fact on the Sunday whilst sat in the bar we overheard the barman say to reception that the bar was empty and that he was therefore closing up (10:15pm).
Having been out late to Harry Potter on the Sunday we came back hoping to be able to get a bar snack or room service. However there were no bar snacks and the all day menu from which we though we could order room service also closed at 9pm (we arrived back at 9:30pm). We therefore ordered takeaway from a local pizza restaurant.
On Monday we were woken several times between 7:30am and 9am by people attending a work conference who thought having a conversation right outside our door about whether to take their laptop to breakfast, whether they needed a pad and a pen and how they spent their savings on a gap year for the experience was appropriate.
Having got up and packed ready for our breakfast booking at 10:30am (£12.50 pp paid for in advance) we arrived at the restaurant to be told that on a weekday breakfast finished at 10am. This we were not told when we paid £50 on the Saturday to have breakfast on both the Sunday and Monday at 10:30am (kids eat free). We were reimbursed but had been looking forward to the breakfast setting us up for the 5 hour journey back. The breakfast we did have on the Sunday was nice. Self service with pastries, fruit and the usual full English options.
The swimming pool was a bit tired and not like it looked on the pictures. We went on the Sunday around midday and asked for towels from reception. However they had none so told us to use the ones from the room and they would be replaced by housekeeping by them leaving them outside our room later in the day. Fortunately we had our own towels just in case and used those. Good job as the towels we were promised never materialised.
Overall it’s clear that they are understaffed and they have a lot of new inexperienced staff working incredibly hard with minimal to no supervision or evident training. One barman who told me it was his first bar job and he had only been there 3 days was teaching another how to pour a pint. And they were the only two on the bar for both of the nights we were there.
The decor is tired and there were parts of the carpet and wooden floors in the communal areas that needed replacing / repairing.
In addition our room was located right outside the car valeting service which meant we couldn’t really leave our curtains open or open our window if we wanted any privacy or quiet time. Rooms on the opposite side will have had a great view of the grounds.
It has a lot of potential but the staffing needs to be addressed if it is to realise this.

Room tip: Check restaurant and bar opening times and availability of food. And double check breakfast time. Quite a bit of parking available.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NicandMark2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Chaplin, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Hello NicandMark2006,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Unfortunately, we have had staffing issues during this very difficult time.

We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience and communication.

Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for me for our anniversary getaway. It’s right by the Harry Potter studio tour so worked perfectly as he’d also booked for us to go there.
He picked the hotel because in the photos it looks grand and romantic. This is a complete mislead from the website. Yes you drive up the driveway to see a grand house, but you are directed to the left where you stay in nothing more than a motel next door to the nice house. You don’t actually go into it at all and the website and booking sites definitely do not reflect this.

When walking from the hotel reception to our room there were a lot of bugs on the walls and windows. I have a real fear of bugs which made me feel uncomfortable every time we had to pass them.

The room on first impression was that it was very small but modern. It wasn’t really dirty but didn’t have a particularly clean feel about it. There was only one towel in the bathroom and when we asked for another we were told they don’t have any large towels and were given a couple of hand towels instead.

We went to have a drink at the bar, there were a family in there having dinner who went up to the bar numerous times to complain about the service which didn’t give us a good impression. We ordered a drink and were told they had no ice so my gin was basically warm. The staff were miserable and one boy had just started and didn’t seem to be getting help from the team around him, they snapped at him.

We went to the Harry Potter tour and on our return walked into reception to witness a couple complaining about their room and their stay. We would’ve gone to the bar but because of the not so great experience earlier in the day we decided to order Dominos and chill out in our room. There were families staying in the rooms near us and we could hear every single sound. The kids shouting in the rooms, every time they opened their room door, every time someone walked up the corridor. It was so noisy and this made it a less than enjoyable nights sleep. The next morning there were kids outside our door shouting at 7:30am and it was not a nice wake up call. The bed also was very uncomfortable. We could feel every spring. When checking out there was also another family at the reception complaining. It doesn’t give a great impression. The reception staff didn’t ask how our stay was just took the key and said bye.

Considering the price that we’ve paid, we would’ve got a better stay from a premier inn and paid much less. I wouldn’t recommend staying at this hotel.

I wish we’d complained while we were there but it didn’t seem to be getting the other people anywhere so we didn’t see the point.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dbird1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Chaplin, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Hello dbird1805,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience.

We appreciate your feedback, It is helping us improve our guest experience.

Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews