We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Jack Dusty

Jack Dusty
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 14/05
20:00
Ranked #94 of 911 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Experience the most talked about waterfront seafood restaurant, lounge and marketplace in Sarasota. Blending a wide array of dining options with Sarasota's vibrant cultural lifestyle, Jack Dusty is ideal for even the most discerning palates.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My daughters were visiting from NYC and I called for Christmas Dinner reservations. I was told the main dining room was totally booked but they most likely would open a room adjacent to the dining room on a first come basis.
We were advised to come around 4 pm to insure seating.
Upon arrival the entrance was beautifully decorated as well as the main dining area... the bar was packed which I found outrageous due to covid restrictions.
We were directed to the side room which was a large banquet room. Due to inclement weather there was no outdoor seating and the restaurant pulled in outdoor furniture to seat guests. The room had no Christmas decorations... not even a wreath... nothing festive at all.
The tables had no tablecloths or flowers... just a small candle which I asked twice to be lit. We might as well have been dining in another country.. The service was painfully slow especially starting with cocktails.
We ordered from a price fixe menu which was subpar
Certainly not up to the Ritz standards. We have spent several amazing Christmas dinners at various Ritz locations and I thought we were sitting in a Marriott.
To my knowledge we were paying the same price as the main dining room but were treated to steerage service.
The whole evening was downright depressing and considering the quality of the food the bill was astronomical!
We will NEVER return...

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank eoc109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Our first night in the hotel and we lucked out to be seated without reservations. Everything from start to finish was perfect! Our waiter was attentive and had great suggestions. The appetizers (scallop special), dinners (filets and grouper) and cocktails (the Siren and the Prisoner) were delicious. Such a relaxing meal in a very pretty setting. Hope to dine here again before we leave.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank jamesmU2174EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2021

LOVE dining at Jack Dusty located in the the Ritz Carlton Hotel in SRQ! They offer Indoor/outdoor dining of your choice. The restaurant has two separate area's
inside and a huge outdoor patio that is covered along with couches and tables further out all overlooking SRQ bay and their pool. Absolutely gorgeous! Always great friendly service. Very nice menu along with daily specials. The food is always good, nice presentation AND they have a very nice wine and cocktail list. I love the atmosphere in there and because it's at the Ritz, you just pull up to the valet. It's a win win! You won't be disappointed! We're locals and dine there all the time.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 875ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

Breakfast is hard to beat. Good selection. Portions are huge so you may want to split a meal. Beautiful patio dining overlooking marina. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Reservations are recommended. We did not get a chance to have dinner but will next time we are in town.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 901Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Service, homemade soup, all the lunch we had was absolutely delicious! Thanks to a really good chef for having the lovely recipes. We had lunch . It was windy outside and we ate inside.
Atmosphere was lovely and relatively quiet. Service was exceptional. Being inside a fine hotel may be part of that.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank susantobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Dusty also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jack Dusty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.