We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,144)
Filter reviews
5,144 results
Traveler rating
2,135
1,580
747
361
321
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,135
1,580
747
361
321
Show reviews that mention
All reviews compass grille harry's bar rum runners bar king suite fire pit parking fee ocean view live music beach resort living area spring break family vacation grocery store gulf blvd pools glen kathy
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 5,144 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

let me start with this, yes, there is construction.

a month before our arrival we contacted the resort due to all negative reviews - we lucked out. we were in close contact with paul h. up until our arrival. he was wonderful and helpful and came thru as a man of his word. and, we even extended our stay by one night and did not have to change rooms.

we were in building 4 (yes, where construction is going on) we checked in thursday and left tuesday very early in the AM. we had a kid suite...with a balcony (a balcony was a must for us) it is a strange set up, but, none the less...it worked and we enjoyed ourselves. the kid suite area where the beds are is kind of like a prison room. lol. thats what we nicknamed it. it has a bunk bed and a small window on the door. again, odd, but it worked as we were there for the beach not the room. bathroom sink and kitchen sink are in a hall...kind of strange set up.

brooke at check in was wonderful...kind and pleasant. nate at rum runners is a fab bartender! housekeeping could do a better job - i am not even sure they really sweep the sandy floors. called 2 days for more towels - they were delivered shortly thereafter. one day had no towels - they delivered us pool towels. but, they worked. lol. all you need is a towel to dry off after your shower...yes, the floors did turn our feet quite black. but no biggie to us. wash em off and move on.

coffee in room and at rumrunners and at gift shop is yucky.

gift shop leaves alot to be desired - not even sure it should be called a gift shop. wifi is super spotty.

service for food at rum runners is ridiculous...takes for ever...even for easy stuff like eggs. needs to be addressed.

beach chairs and umbrella service is fabulous!!! but its a hike up to the bar....i think that will be made better once other beach bar is done.

pool area was soooo super crowded as was hot tub. way crowded. kindof in a gross way - sooo many people....pool area is very small. chairs are all taken by 8:15am.

awesome to have water sports right there! we did banana boat rides and jet skis.

it is an older resort on the beach...on the beach cant be beat!

we didnt have a car - but it sure looked like parking is an issue.

great location.

the restrooms by rum runners are disgusting and stink. not kept up at all during the day.

so, if you are looking for a beach resort that is affordable and on the beach this may be for you or it may not.

we were very nervous after reading all the negative reviews and our 5 days turned out just fine.

go to bongos beach bar next door for a great vibe! bartenders are great and food is your normal beach bar food but good.

normans fine wines is smack across the street! and uber is a dial away.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Marketing Coordinator at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly remodeled rooms and beachfront location. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced and the service at Rum Runners. Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we can welcome you back after our transformation is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Sirata is currently experiencing some major issues. It is under new ownership and is undergoing major renovation and trying to transition from a beach motel to a resort. Unfortunately, they are understaffed and are charging for amenities that they do not have yet. A quick summary of issues:
- Only one small pool currently open, which is unusable due to major overcrowding. One small pool for this entire resort is not even close to adequate. The resort should not be booking to capacity until the other pools are reopened.
-an employee from Engineering working on the construction took his cigarette breaks in front of my room blowing smoke in my family's face while we tried to get in room
-lock to fitness center broke so I could not get in
-key issues with room which required both maintenance and security to fix
-problems with safe lock
-consistently received only 2 bath towels and no bath mat daily for 4 people and only 1 bar of soap for the week. Maid said she simply didn't have enough supplies for number of guests.
-no TV service. The tv consistently said "weak signal" and was unusable.
-no wifi at all, despite the fact they advertise it
-not nearly enough lounge chairs for number of guests at resort. Renting 4 chairs and umbrella from their concession on beach was over $60 per day.
-not enough parking for guests and no-one stationed in the entrance booth to make sure that non guests do not park and use resort
-the lock to fitness center broke so I could not get in, saw someone working on it the next day
The staff are hard working and the resort has potential due to great location but the problem is management: at present , there is no effective management at all. The place is chaos. At check out there were many people asking to speak with management and the manager was nowhere to be found. One guest said he had requested to speak with the manger 4 times over 2 days and kept being told "she is in a meeting". I was also unable to speak with management. It seemed like she was hiding. This is unacceptable. The resort needs a new effective manager who cares about the guest experience and more staff. I would stay away from The Sirata for some time until they get it together.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank lsb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Marketing Coordinator at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re disappointed that you experienced so many mishaps during your visit with us and we hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back after our transformation is complete in October for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Was a fantastic day for our easter dinner. Food was phenomenal as usual. Rick our server was awesome. All the staff was very attentive and accommodating. Will definitely be back for future family get togethers.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Anita Minshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Marketing Coordinator at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Anita, thanks for letting the Sirata host your Easter family get together. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for three nights on our spring break. We have two children ages five and eight. I have mixed feelings about this place. Upon arrival, we waited in line for 45 minutes to check in. My first impression is they have some booking issues and I was nervous but we got our room just fine. The hotel seemed to be under construction and I could hear the equipment during the day but luckily our room was on the other end of the resort. The room was clean except the floor was gritty from sand. We were beach front on ground level so I could forgive that. However, you have to pay a daily resort fee. This covers wifi, bottled water, pool towels, etc. We never received any bottled water, the wifi barely worked and the tv uses an app that kept freezing. We had four small glasses but not a single cup to use for the coffee machine. I asked room service for a cup and the lady told me they were installing plastic cups in the room that very day but that never happened. I ended up buying a coffee at the gift shop for a cup that I used for three days. We had a fridge and there is an option for a microwave for a daily fee.
The room was nice, the beds were comfortable. We cleaned the filters to the air unit to stop an awful noise which worked. All minor issues but they add up. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with fountains and hibiscus everywhere. A gift shop/mini shop for some convience items. There is only one pool at the moment and it is packed! The pool's lowest depth is 4ft so about 10-15 little ones were jammed on the steps to play. No lifeguard provided. They have two restaurants, one we discovered as we were leaving. The other one is a bar by the pool which serves good food (a bit pricey) and provides entertainment ALL DAY LONG. Our room was close by and it felt like bad karoke night the entire time. They played adult games by the pool to win drinks. If you love drinking and cover songs, this place is for you! The pool was heated though and my kids loved it. The place did get quiet by 10pm. The beach was very clean and beautiful with hammocks by the sand dunes. You could rent chairs, umbrellas, etc. My kids loved the life size chess board on the beach and the playground. Parking was easy. The employees were all very kind and helpful. I think this place has big ideas but could focus on the small details. Overall, not horrible but not my ideal.

Pic is the sunset from our room.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank JennSenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Marketing Coordinator at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Jenn, thanks for leaving feedback about your stay. I’m sorry about the inconveniences you experienced at the Sirata. We do hope you’ll consider us again; our renovations are scheduled to be complete this fall and we’d love for you to see our transformation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We recently experienced a very disappointing stay at the Sirata. We originally booked 2 - 1st floor beach front rooms and at the time of check in they apparently upgraded 1 room to a different building that was directly over a significant construction project taking place at the resort. Several other guests experienced the same and were asking to be moved. We even talked to a few guests and Sirata was very inconsistent in how they handled the situation. Some guests were offerred a discount and even future night stays for free. Our rates were not adjusted and no other consideration was offered based on the construction. They tried to say our move was an upgrade when in fact it was directly over the construction. We are very disappointed in how they handled this situation with no consideration for our inconvenience around the construction. We woke up each morning to very loud construction sounds. We were repeat customers that have enjoyed this resort several years in the past and because of this experience will not be returning. Too many choices are avaialble in FL for the same price and the solution would have been easy for management to offer a discounted rate for the inconvience of the construction or offer a future stay at a discounted rate to enjoy the resort after construction. It's unfortunate that a resort like this could not see the opportunity to better service repeat customers and adjust their business practices to keep their guests happy.

Room Tip: Confirm that all construction is over or exact location of room before arrival
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank aphifer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Marketing Coordinator at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We’re very sorry to hear that our renovations had such a negative impact on your stay at the Sirata. We want nothing more than to hear positive experiences from our guests and we're just as disappointed as you are to know your stay was short of exceptional. We completely understand your frustrations during our transformation and we truly appreciate your feedback. Every day we strive to deliver a better experience and it is your comments that allows us to do so. We hope we'll have another opportunity to welcome you back so you can experience all of our stunning updates including our upgraded guestrooms, redesigned beachfront bars and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews