We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but service style could be better”
Review of Sofrito Latin Cafe

Sofrito Latin Cafe
Ranked #12 of 344 Quick Bites in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Description: Orlando's new Latin America Culinary experience. Located minutes from Disney, Sofrito offers flavors, dishes and drinks from several Latin American countries.
Restaurant details
Description: Orlando's new Latin America Culinary experience. Located minutes from Disney, Sofrito offers flavors, dishes and drinks from several Latin American countries.
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

They have a really good variety of Latin foods - from Central and South America. Well prepared, really good value for money and good ingredients as well.
Their business model is that you order as soon as you enter and then you sit and eat. But the menu is too good to not eat a few minutes of reading and figuring out. At least for open minded patrons like me who want to explore authentic Latin cuisine without having much experience with it.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank HWPKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielA11981, Guest Relations Manager at Sofrito Latin Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

HWPKG, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We read reviews in order to learn how we can continue improving our customers' experience. We're glad you enjoyed our food and the variety of authentic Latin meals. Our goal has always been to share our passion for Latin cuisine and culture, so we love that you recognized that. We also appreciate your feedback about our ordering and service process. We know we aren't always perfect and have made sure to share your thoughts with our management team! Thank you for dining with us, as well as taking the time to leave us a review! We hope you'll dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Grab a menu hanging by the register, order, pay and then find your seat—they give you a stick with a number on it and will bring it to you. They serve beer and wine, but no other alcohol. The churassco was to die for and the mains come with a choice of 3 sides plus a small salad—an excellent value! If you need a little spice, ask at the bar and there is a wonderful yellow salsa, medium hot, made in Peru and no, it does not contain any mustard, although it’s hard to believe that from the color. If you need to burn your tonsils off, ask for the “hot” salsa—it’s habanero. Service was also very quick and friendly—I would definitely go back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielA11981, Guest Relations Manager at Sofrito Latin Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

ltw52, we're happy you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant! It's great to know that you loved our Churrasco and felt it was of great value. It's one of our favorite dishes too! We also wanted to let you know that our homemade hot sauce is Peruvian based and is actually made with Aji Amarillo (A yellow pepper). Overall, we love knowing that you would definitely return to dine with us and that you would recommend our restaurant to others! We'll be happy to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Repeat visitor, our second.
Becoming one of our favorites. I'm a big fan of avoiding chain restaurants on trips.
Very low key atmosphere; and we had amazingly attentive service. Freshly prepared food, i can't tell you how authentic it was since I haven't travelled much in Latin America, but it sure was tasty. My favorite was the tres leche dessert. Don't hesitate to give this little place a try. Also great for dates since it has great ambiance and outdoor seating. And plates to share helps too!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EverettS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielA11981, Guest Relations Manager at Sofrito Latin Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Everett, thank you for leaving us a 5-star review! We're ecstatic to know that you've returned to dine with us. We love hearing that you enjoy our food, service, and atmosphere. At Sofrito, we love sharing our passion for Latin cuisine and culture. Our team works hard to create an amazing experience for our customers, so your recognition is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience. We'll be happy to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Great food, generous portions, good price, and nice atmosphere! Went here while I was on vacation and it had a wonderful variety of Latin food. When you go in you order at the front and then they will bring you your food. You can also take the menus to a table and order up front once you know what you would like. Even though that sounds like a fast food place the ambiance had the feel of a restaurant where you would order from your table and it had a relaxing feel. In terms of food, I got the Colombian empanadas which tasted very authentic (I'm Colombian). I shared the pollo a la plancha with my husband. Along with our entree, we were able to pick 3 sides (rice, yuca, and plantains). It was plenty of food and all delicious! Would go there again!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ericaaispuroregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielA11981, Guest Relations Manager at Sofrito Latin Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

ericaaispuroregan, it's great to hear that you and your husband loved our food and atmosphere. We love knowing that you enjoyed our Empanadas and Pollo a la Plancha. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, as well as leaving us a 5-star review! We hope you'll dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience dining here. The staff were very friendly and offered perfect suggestions for our meal. Coming here was a nice change of pace instead of the big commercial restaurants. We would definitely come back when we visit Orlando again!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielA11981, Guest Relations Manager at Sofrito Latin Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

That's great to hear, Anthony! We love knowing that your family enjoyed their experience with us. We appreciate your praise of our food and service. We're always glad to be your getaway from the chains near the theme park area :) Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review! We'll be happy to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofrito Latin Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sofrito Latin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing