We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$251
FindHotelUS$251
eDreamsUS$251
PricelineUS$251
Expedia.comUS$251
HurbUS$279
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,858)
Filter reviews
3,858 results
Traveler rating
2,209
1,054
346
139
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,209
1,054
346
139
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ritz lazy river pool area self parking beautiful hotel lobby bar resort fee breakfast buffet conference center fire pit great pool disney parks international drive primo starbucks quench property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,858 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

Review continued: Decided to just share a meal from The Kitchen restaurant. My husband just went down at 9:10pm to order and bring it back up to the room. He tried to order and was told that they can’t do “To go” orders until 10pm (WHAT? REALLY?)! Okay he calls and says he’ll wait downstairs and have a drink while he waits. At 10:00pm he goes to place the order for the bone-in short ribs and was told that they had ran out an hour ago! When he was waiting! I am so disgusted! Stay elsewhere if you have the choice!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank CTgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear CTgirl70,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We are genuinely sorry for the concerns you and your husband had with our Food & Beverage department recently and for any miscommunication that resulted. We always want to provide thoughtful and genuine hospitality from each member of our team, and we are grateful for feedback that helps us shape quality, tailored experiences. We have addressed your comments and taken the proper action to ensure it is not repeated. We appreciate your patience and hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best Regards,
Julie Walsh
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2021

My husband and I wanted a nice relaxing getaway after COVID vaccines (4/4-9). We wanted a nice resort with a big nice pool area and lazy river with restaurants onsite so that we wouldn't have to leave if we didn't want to. We settled on JW Marriott Orlando because it's pool area came up as one of the top ten in Orlando. We flew into Orlando and had an easy Uber ride to the resort. We checked in around 6:45pm. Check-in was quick and easy. We were located on the 15th floor facing the beautiful parking lot (kidding). We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a pool/golf course facing room but it was going to be $50/pn fee. We passed on that offer. We chose not to rent a car because the fees were $35/self park and $40/valet. Why do we need to pay to park ourselves, while paying for the room and hotel fees??? Okay, so we got over that and figured we could Uber if we really needed to go off the property.

Dining: Very Expensive and not a lot of choices on any menu. We ate at The Kitchen 2 nights. Not because we wanted to, but because the options were very limited. I had a $12 desert that tasted great, but I could've eaten it in 3 spoonful's. The pool bar was fine for lunch. we waited over an hour or more for our salads and wraps, but it was the first day so we weren't stressed. FYI - the 18% gratuity is automatically applied at the pool. No way around it. We looked at the menu at Primo (Italian Dinner) each night, but it did not even have spaghetti and meatballs. Everything is so upscale-ish that I have no idea what our kids would have eaten is they came with us. This restaurant is Citron in the morning for a $25 pancake w/o meat, and $30 plus tax for a buffet breakfast (we refused to eat here at that price). The Lobby Bar is an even more limited menu (never ate there). Starbucks is only open from 6am-4pm. My French vanilla small coffee cost almost $4. There was another eatery for sandwiches' and lite-fares, but they were closed. There is a little store for items you forgot, but it's small. We saw many families ordering Ubereats or some other delivery food. If we had to choose a favorite restaurant it would have been the Golf Pub. At least they had wings, burgers and fries, etc. Still pricey with 10 wings for $24., but we had to eat!

Room: We had a king bed room and it is nothing special at all. There is a small refrigerator and safe, but no microwave. Also, every room has a small balcony with no chairs. Next time we will definitely stay back off Rte 192 so that we can stay in a full 1 bedroom unit with a kitchen for a percentage of what we paid to stay here. Also, it seems like it is by itself in the area. You definitely need a rental car unless you are just spending time at the Parks. They do provide transportation to Disney Parks.

Ritz Carlton: You can use the amenities at the Ritz, but it is definitely for adults. The 2 restaurants there are even more expensive than JW Marriott. I saw an Aged Ribeye for $200. a la carte.

This resort is nice and clean, and the staff are nice enough. I guess it's just not for us. I was really upset that at no restaurant did they have a baked potato!

FYI - After 11:00pm do not get hungry or thirsty..... Everything is closed and shut down.

Room tip: rooms either face the pool or the parking lot, but there are no chairs on the balconies.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear Yolanda M,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit to Orlando. However, we are genuinely sorry for not meeting you or your husband's expectations regarding our dining options and guestrooms. We are passionate about crafting a distinctive, seamless experience for each guest, and we are disappointed to know this was not your experience. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the exceptional hospitality for which we are known.

Best Regards,
Julie Walsh
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We have stayed at this JW Marriott and the attached Ritz many times over the years for both work and pleasure. We have enjoyed our time in the past. This was our worst experience to date. I know that because of covid things are different. I don't expect the same service but I do expect the same high standards. Staffing seemed limited and unresponsive.

Biggest Issues:
1. While the hotel had signage about masks and limited occupancy in the elevators, guests absolutely did not abide by these rules. Guests were not wearing masks in the lobby as they sat around and ate, drank, talked on phones and socialized. The common areas where more like private parties.

2. Guest would walk into the elevators without masks while drinking glasses of wine. It was social hour and there was no concern for safety. Never did I see an employee say a word. When a group tried to get on my elevator I told them absolutely no.

3. We went outside to look at the pool. No chairs available, filled lazy river, no space at all between groups. We did not use the pool.

I chose to travel during covid. In doing so I assumed that people would still be taking this pandemic seriously and using common courtesy. Most of us are still patiently awaiting our turn to get the vaccine. If guests can't put on a mask when they are in public, the hotel should have asked them to leave. The employees were all wearing masks and their safety was at risk as well.

We used the app to ask for more towels, soap, etc. After being out for 9 + hours we didn't get those items. We had to call the front desk where an employee apologized and said they forgot to put in the request.

Bottom line - the hotel needs more staff, they need to enforce rules with the clientele (just as the major theme parks do) and they need to provide service at the levels that you expect and are paying for at a JW Marriott.

We are hotel people....but if you aren't getting the perks of staying at a hotel a vacation rental just seems like the better value.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tlh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Good Day,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please send us a private message with your personal contact information so we may investigate and assist you further.

Best Regards,
Julie Walsh
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021

We just checked out of this hotel and as noted by other reviewers, this JW is not aligned with typical JW properties. It bears the name and that is where the similarity ends. First, the hotel was massively overcrowded due to the Spring Break rush and the hotel staff seemed unable to manage the crowded. Elevator lines were long. There were two valets so the front looked like a parking lot of cars just sitting around. All of the seats were taken in the lobby every day with some sharing a seat. It looked like an airport terminal for a delayed flight. There was absolutely no social distancing occurring.

The rooms are the size of a shoe box. They are dated and worn as the room furniture is scarred, discolored and the carpet is stained. Our tub was dirty upon check in. We asked the front desk to send someone to clean it yet they never did. My husband had to clean it so that our children could use it. Who has to clean their own hotel room? On our first night our sheets were stained. We waited more than 30 minutes for housekeeping to change them. A woman who looked to be over the age of 80 arrived and it almost felt cruel to ask her to perform such a task. The next night we had to wait yet again for their staff to fix another broken item in our room. And our room's refrigerator made an odd sound 24/7 but we loathed at having to have another item repaired during our short stay. It is past time for renovations!

The pool area was simply ok. The chairs were gone each day by 8am as guests placed towels on them and left for hours. The gate attendant likes to claim that the guests simply went to breakfast but such is not true. Most higher end resorts will not allow chairs to be held if an individual is not actually there. Many were moving towels that had no one in the lounge chair and we did as well. You do not get the right to hold a chair and leave and return when you are ready. The hotel needs to make such a policy to be fair to all guests.

On the positive side, the breakfast buffet is wonderful and our server Alberto was amazing! Most staff at the hotel are very friendly. We were disappointed that our room was not cleaned daily. They claim such is due to COVID but it felt more like due to a lack of adequate staffing. The barrage of recent poor reviews are spot on with our recent experience. Sadly this hotel will not change. They will note our experiences on this site to appear concerned, invite us back (which will never happen for us) and continue to operate below standards. Do better JW or change your name!

Date of stay: April 2021
2  Thank trueluxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Good Day,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Please send us a private message with your personal contact information so we may investigate and assist you further.

Best Regards,
Julie Walsh
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

Rooms are not ready at 4pm as promised. While they do allow you to use the pool while you wait, it is a terrible inconvenience to go sifting through your luggage to find swimsuits. Not to mention if you have dinner plans or other prior engagements in the early evening, those are impacted because of the late check ins. the front desk is also not empowered to compensate you for the inconvenience. really poor start to our vacation.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank gretchenz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear Gretchenz2016,

We appreciate you choosing us for your Orlando vacation; however, we regret that you were disappointed during your stay. Our goal is always to create enriching experiences through our commitment to quality, therefore, we apologize for the challenges presented upon your arrival. We are thankful for your candid feedback, and we will use it to improve our guest experience for the future. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the seamless and exceptional stay you deserve.

Best Regards,
Julie Walsh
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews