We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience. No wow effect”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Ranked #447 of 1,172 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hispanola Avenue
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I went to Benihana in Miami Beach to amuse my family (kid + parents) with a "food show". The restaurant is OK, food OK (tasty) but not much show to see.... The cheff was "fun" but nothing spectacular. Food a little pricey, service average. The restaurant appeared to so clean. Had a reservation but had to wait for a while anyways. Less than expected.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Chris, thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Your feedback helps us to make improvements and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato. If you would like to get in touch with our Guest Relations team, please do so via: benihanalistens.smg.com/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

We were there to celebrate a birthday. Very good the entertainment and the food. Even though we waited for 45 minutes for the table, it was worth the waiting. Enyoable and very different.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ile248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Ile, On behalf of the Benihana team, we are happy to have provided you with a 5-star experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Wonderful experience at this great place ! The sushi as a starter was wonderful. And for main, the steak hibachi was to die for! It came with soup, salad, some prawns as starters and we also upgraded to chicken fried rice ... it’s worth it! Do it ! Simply sensational, ended up in a food coma but was so worth it!

Thank TandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

On behalf of the Benihana team, we are happy to have provided you with a 5-star experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Tasety meal combination of :
Soup, salad, shrimps , Choice of steak, chicken or seafood with rice or vegetables.
Main dishes are made in by amazing entertaining chefs in front of you .
Great service .

Thank Amnon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Amnon, thank you for leaving us positive feedback, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We used to love this Benihana, it used to feel like a classy, well kept restaurant, but based on the last few times we have been, especially last night, it looks like those times have long gone.

My first visit was in 2012 and I was blown away. I loved everything about the place. My wife and her family have been coming even longer than me but we all feel that over the past few years it feels like it is getting cheaper and cheaper which taints the overall experience.

They changed the authentic Japanese styled plates and bowls they used to have for basic white plates.

We have noticed problems in the past with the air conditioning, a couple of times it was unbearable. It's no fun to eat a meal while you are sweaty.

Last night there were no cloth napkins. Instead we were given 1 paper napkin each.

They have replaced the mustard based sauce that comes with the meal with a cheap mayonnaise style sauce which had no flavor. We asked for the mustard sauce and both the waitress and chef seemed reluctant to give us any. When they gave us the sauce it was watery and didn't taste like it used to.

We weren't offered desert after our meal.

The bathrooms are in a poor condition. There was no paper towels to dry my hands with. I've seen cleaner restrooms in a gas station.

The service felt like we were in a fast food cafeteria. Simply unacceptable. The quality has gone down but the prices have not!

Overall it is very sad to see what used to be our favorite restaurant gradually decline. It feels like the attention and care for the place has completely gone.

We used to take visitors to Miami to this restaurant but that will no longer be the case.

I do hope they actually read these reviews and pay attention to what people are saying.

Once again we will no longer consider Benihana as a place where we eat and celebrate. We used to celebrate all of our birthdays here but never again.

A massive shame. I wish I could put lower than a terrible rating.

1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Mark, we take these matters seriously and never want to leave you disappointed. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would like to follow up with you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing