We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and great music in ocean breezes”
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #829 of 1,157 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Description: We are an Italian-American restaurant serving a variety of dishes for every palate. From our American Beach Bites to our favorite pasta dishes and house specials, we offer great comfort food in an outdoor garden just across the street from the beach on Ocean Drive.
Restaurant details
Description: We are an Italian-American restaurant serving a variety of dishes for every palate. From our American Beach Bites to our favorite pasta dishes and house specials, we offer great comfort food in an outdoor garden just across the street from the beach on Ocean Drive.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We come here every year on vacation and we eat at Il Giardino almost every night. We love their spaghetti alla carbonara (made the classic way--almost impossible to find) and their coconut shrimp, and the live music/performance is fantastic. Luis Mejia, their regular flamenco guitarist, is world class and not to be missed. His regular flamenco dancer Lily is equally world class. People stop on the sidewalk to watch. You won't find this quality of entertainment anywhere else on Ocean Drive.

We've had three servers on this trip: Suheyla, Milica, and Nestor. We remember Suheyla and Nestor from previous trips, too, and they remembered us. All are excellent: warm, welcoming, friendly, and attentive.

Please note that tips in South Beach are often included in the check; pay attention when they bring the check. You can always tip more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AloNYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailene T, Guest Relations Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Alo,

Thank you for making your annual visit to South Beach and including Il Giardino among your must-do's. We have taken extra care in developing our menu to appeal to all tastes who visit South Beach. As an added bonus, we do have live entertainment Mon-Sat. from 7 pm - 11 pm. & Fri-Sun from 1 pm - 7 pm. We strive to provide excellent service and high-quality food to make your vacation extra special. We cannot wait to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

$240 for 4 people and the food was so rubbish, was like eating out of a cheap hostel. Food had been sitting out for ages. $30 for a peroni and it was a millar light. Manager screaming at the staff to do anything to get people to sit and eat. Avoid at all costs

Thank Wobstyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailene T, Guest Relations Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there Wobstyr,

We are sorry you had such a terrible experience. Our menu is so vast, that it would not be efficient to cook food before it's ordered. So, we don't have anything just sitting out. Did you order Peroni in the bottle? Or did you receive the 30-oz. beer mug? Your server should have clarified which one you wanted. In addition, I would like to find out what day and time you visited, so we can find out which manager was on duty to discuss the proper protocol. We rely on them to lead as examples, and it sounds like this person is not an example we want representing our establishment. We would greatly appreciate it if you could reach out to us at guestservices@ilgiardinomiami.com to tell us more about your experience. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brought us huge drinks without asking then bill was $ the $150!!! I have not been to a place with drinks for $75. Ridiculous! They argued with us like we were simpletons. Save yourself the stress. STAY AWAY!!

Thank melanie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailene T, Guest Relations Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Melanie. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive the proper service. Each guest is supposed to receive, both, a drink menu and a clear explanation of drink sizes and prices.Your drinks were not $75 as we don't have any at that price point. Without seeing your receipt, it sounds like you had the Bulldog drink that comes with two Coronas in it. That's a 55-oz cocktail and due to its size, it costs $60. Miami Beach tax totals 9% and there is also the gratuity. The size and price of these drinks are why we tell our servers to make sure our guests know what it is they're ordering. It sounds like your server failed in this regard. Please feel free to reach out to us at guestservices@ilgiardinomiami.com to tell us more about your experience. We'd love the opportunity to invite you back on us to make up for the oversight. Thanks so much for your feedback. We will do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clearly we expected higher prices because of the location but $25 for a beer is too ridiculous, regardless of where you are. However, what was really disappointing is the level of service, absolutely irritating, including 18% gratuity for that kind of service in the bill is just not right, I don't care if in the US is "normal". I travelled the US for leisure and biz hundreads times and never had anywhere that level of rough and inappropriate service.

Thank DaniSofiDadoBabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailene T, Guest Relations Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dani,

It sounds like your server brought you one of our 22-oz draft beers instead of a bottle of beer, which probably would have sufficed. We instruct our servers to be clear with the guests when taking their order to avoid this type of confusion. It sounds like your server failed to follow our protocol. Because we are in an international entertainment district the 18% gratuity is added in because we service travelers from around the world, many from countries where tipping isn't customary. We are sorry that you received subpar service and would like to invite you back for a meal on us to make up for the oversight and poor experience. Please reach out to us at guestservices@ilgiardinomiami.com at your convenience to arrange your meal. Thank you for your feedback. We will work to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

You wrote a review for Il Giardino One minute ago
1.0 star rating 3/16/2018
DO NOT GO!
I went here with a group. We had checked about 15 different places; we entered the restaurant after confirming if they were offering happy hours specials. The waitress didn't offer a menu when asked and said what do you want and verbally read out the drink specials. We ordered a mojito and a margarita. Both the drinks were really watered down and we didn't like the service so we decided to leave and go to another restaurant. When we ordered our bill, our total was a whopping $212 and just unimaginable. The average price on Ocean Dr. is about $50 -70 max all inclusive. We asked to speak with the manager and the waitress said what the problem, I am the manager is. I confronted her with the charge that you are over charging me and she then took me a 'manager'. I went to the main desk and the 'manager' didn't even make eye contact with me and said 'can you please leave me because I am eating!' This was the same lady who 30 minutes ago appeared to be the nicest person when welcoming us in and confirming the Happy Hour special. This appalling service and exploitive attitude towards customers is purely duplicitous.

I have never written a bad review before but this restaurant surely deserves it. WHATEVER YOU DO JUST DO NOT GO HERE!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ssb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailene T, Guest Relations Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this feedback. Can you please email us at guestservices@ilgiardinomiami.com with more of the details? There are a couple of things you mention that don't describe not only our service but our restaurant. For example, we do not have a "main desk", so I am a little confused as to if we are the right restaurant.

If we are the correct restaurant, definitely forward your receipt and we will get to the bottom of what you were charged and correct it, if necessary. We take our diners' experiences seriously do not let things like this stand if we are in the wrong. We hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing