We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sweets”

Fireman Derek's Bake Shop & Desserts
Ranked #2 of 89 Quick Bites in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Description: Fireman Derek's serves all types of desserts and coffees. Specializing in sweet and savory pies, cheesecakes, and pastries. We have award winning Key Lime Pie made with fresh squeezed key limes! And we have our famous White Chocolate Guava Cookie.
Restaurant details
Description: Fireman Derek's serves all types of desserts and coffees. Specializing in sweet and savory pies, cheesecakes, and pastries. We have award winning Key Lime Pie made with fresh squeezed key limes! And we have our famous White Chocolate Guava Cookie.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you drive too fast you will miss this place on North Miami Avenue. The place is small but when you walk out, you'll be walking out with a bag full of flavor. The best carrot cake, guava bread pudding and nutella pie in Miami. The crack pie, is excellent but sweeter than my taste bud can handle. The guava cookie is amazing, as is the smores bar and just about everything else, including the spinach quiche and the ham and cheese quiche. I have yet to have anything in the store that I do not like. Lovely way to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2019

In Miami doing some holiday get away travel and after doing some extensive research we decided to try Fireman Derek's for some sweets. Definitely did not disappoint based on what we expected! We stayed away from the cookies and just went for the pies and tried an Empanada. Start with the Buffalo Chicken Empanada. It was very good, but we all decided it was good, but not something we would order again the next time we stopped. Now the good stuff. We ordered the following, Crack Pie (Salted Carmel Pie), Salty Monkey Pie, Smores Brownie, Key Lime Pie, Red Velvet Cake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, and Carrot Cake. There is only 4 of us and we all tried bites of all of those. They were all excellent and we did do Post Mates the next day and ordered all the same again to have more it was so good. By far our favorite if we had to choose was the Crack Pie and the Red Velvet Cake. Carrot Cake was a close 2nd and the rest was a very close third. It was some of the best dessert traveling around the country that we have had in years. I would definitely add this to your stop if you are looking for some good dessert and in the Miami area. Enjoy!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomm277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

I went to this Bake Shop last night and ordered the Chocolate Cake in the window. They went to the back and got me a practically frozen cake from the back. The cake was hard as a rock and not fresh at all! Very disappointing to spend $10 on a piece of cake that is not fresh. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Paknheat305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

The tiny store has outsized empanadas; big fat moist pies. The pies are baked rather than fried. We had both the chicken and spinach pies, and loved them both. Only wish they had a store closer to home so we could have them more frequently.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank W6553QSgarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 December 2018 via mobile

We ordered 2 pies for Thanksgiving—a pumpkin and a mixed berry. The bill for the 2 two pies was over $70. Yes, we expected really good pies. The fillings WERE very good, especially the berry that had a really nice guava addition. But the crusts! The crust can make or break a pie. In both cases, the crusts were not cooked properly, maybe even over kneaded. You know when you see raw crust and it’s different color? Yet when we went to cut it, we couldn’t cut through the crust with our forks— we had to saw with our knives. So sad, as we wanted this to be so good.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fireman Derek's Bake Shop & Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing