We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to get a reservation for 6 at 6:45 for 3/16 or 3/17. Told 5:45 or 7:30”

Marek's Bar and Bistro
Ranked #19 of 89 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 5 March 2021

As year rounders we dine here numerous times. Now they want very early seating or too late seating because there are 6. No we're none. We're done.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank U2000DDfrankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter m, Owner at Marek's Bar and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

so you rated us 3 stars because you couldn’t get a reservation ?
I’m very sorry we could not offer availability at your requested time. As Restaurant owners we reserve the right to offer availability and arrange our table strategy as we please and I hate to bore customers with these details but here goes. With a table of 6 we have to but 2 tables together , during our busiest season as a business we have to turn our tables 2 and maybe 3 times , if you wanted to come at your desired time we would likely be unable to achieve a second seating on your (2) tables and as a small business especial after the last business year that all restaurants have experienced that is not a strategy we have decided on but I’m sure this is not something you considered while trying to make your very rigid reservation time. Our goal is to please our customers and offer them an enjoyable dining experience but first and foremost we are a business.

As “year rounders ” my suggestion would be not expect to name your time at a busy restaurant during the busiest month of the year. I’m sorry your are “done” with our establishment but hopefully you will enjoy your dining experiences else where.

If you would like to discuss please feel free to contact me and I’d love to explain the nuances of our sales strategy.

Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2021

Went for dinner on a Friday night. Food was excellent, good variety of seafood. Very nice building and atmosphere. Service was very good. Singer / guitarist was very good - added a nice island vibe.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank beachbums789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

I emailed the restaurant and the owner emailed me back promptly — we chose this place because it had live entertainment in Wednesday’s. This place is unique — loved the atmosphere and our food was amazing! I had halibut and it almost melted in my mouth- delicious !!! Highly recommend this somewhat hidden gem.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Queenbee4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Great food, great service, great music on a Friday night when we were there. I’ve never had a bad meal here. This is a must on Marco!

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank meanderalongwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2021

My Husband & I did not visit this eatery the first time we visited Marco Island a couple years ago, so we made sure to visit here this time. The historic building had nice decor and lighting. There is an option to eat outside, which we usually prefer, but we sat inside since it was a cool evening. I had the crab stuffed shrimp and my Husband had Banana Grouper. Both dishes were tasty. We split the carrot cake as a dessert. The dessert was a bit small in size, but it was tasty. Stoli was our server, and he did a great job. We recommend a visit to this eatery if you are visiting Marco Island.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marek's Bar and Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marek's Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.