We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to get to Key West”
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We booked this boat for a quick trip down and back to Key West in a day. It is a reasonable way to go and given the time constraints they have to work around, they did a fine job. The trip each way takes about 3 hours each, which leaves you with about 4 to 5 hours to cram in what you will. I agree with some of the of the other reviewers that if you want to see more, book overnight accommodations in Key West.

The boat itself is fairly comfortable with indoor/outdoor seating. It really moves along, so if you are outside, expect to be major windblown. Also, it can get cool so bring a windbreaker, sweatshirt to stay comfortable not only outside but in the overly air conditioned interior areas , even only a hot day. They have a snack bar as well as alcoholic as non-alcoholic drinks for purchase. As well, they only accept cash for all your purchases which includes the conch train tickets should you choose to do that.






Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Wendy we appreciate you sharing your experience and as always agree about extending your stay if possible. Though the island is small it is big in history, dining, attractions, water activities, entertainment and much more! We hope you are able to extend your stay next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"return trip"
in 193 reviews
"day trip"
in 198 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 48 reviews
"conch train"
in 34 reviews
"your luggage"
in 33 reviews
"fort myers"
in 203 reviews
"ferry terminal"
in 22 reviews
"top deck"
in 95 reviews
"both ways"
in 55 reviews
"boarding process"
in 26 reviews
"play cards"
in 27 reviews
"rough ride"
in 21 reviews
"snack bar"
in 85 reviews
"sit outside"
in 30 reviews
"boat leaves"
in 20 reviews
"four hours"
in 48 reviews
"marco island"
in 43 reviews
Filter

66 - 70 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have driven to and flown into Key West more times than I can readily count. And while they're both fine, nothing compares to the Key West Express trip we just took for a weekend getaway. The entire process, from making the reservation to grabbing Bloody Marys when we got on the boat, was super-simple. DO NOTE: If you plan to have drinks on the trip, bring cash. Once the boat gets off shore, they lose internet and can't run a credit card.

I've been around boats my entire life, but my wife hasn't and she was a bit nervous about the boat rocking. But even in the heavier seas on the way down, the boat is big enough and fast enough that she had no ireal ssues. And the view from the top deck is like something out of a Corona commercial.

When you fly into KW, the airport is on the far side of the island from Duval St/Mallory Square, and it's a $25 minimum cab ride (no Uber there yet). And having a car there can be a liability since parking can be really hard to find. But the boat dropped us right at the marina. You step out and there's Dante's on one side of you, and Caroline St on the other. We used the Paradise Porters, who delivered our bags from the boat to our hotel, and then picked them back up when we checked out on Sunday, so we were free to explore the moment we stepped off the boat. Fantastic.
ALSO NOTE: the Key West Ferry Terminal inexplicably does not have its own bar. We would've enjoyed a cocktail or two while waiting to board for the return trip, but no such luck. Next time, we'll get them in to-go cups! And next time, we will absolutely use the express again.

3  Thank rik f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Rik, you are right about cars being a liability in Key West. Parking is difficult to find and can be quite expensive. Many B&B's do not have guest parking therefore public garages must be used and can be blocks away. We are delighted you gave us a try and enjoyed your experience. As you mentioned, Dante's is right next door, so many choose to end their island visit with a swim and cocktail at this popular spot! Thank you for your review...and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant journey. Just don’t do one day. Make a reservation at a key West hotel for a night or two. Same day was the mistake we made. Not worth it.

Thank marcia1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

The trip itself can be super relaxing without being behind the wheel. Spending a night or two does allow visitors to really experience Key West however a day trip is just right for many. Island enthusiasts who visit frequently know just where they want to go for example lunching at Blue Heaven or Garbo's, picking up a new pair of Kino's at the sandal factory, checking out a gallery or two, libations at Sloppy Joe's and Irish Kevin's and maybe a dip in the pool at Dante's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We took the Keywest Express on a day trip to the keys. They were very hospitable. It’s a great way to visit the keys! Our only regret was that it wasn’t enough time in the keys. I suggest staying at least three days.

Thank loriklatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We appreciate your compliment of our hospitality and service. A day trip can be a lot of fun.....but a teaser as well. The island is loaded with history, attractions, activities, art and entertainment, shopping, dining, fun bars and more so spending a night or two are ideal to fully explore the charming destination! We hope you are able to do just that next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is a great service to Key West. It takes 4 hours each way, with parking available at the dock. The crew were first class, and very helpful. The return fair did not seem expensive, and is 2 hours shorter than driving. This boat certainly packs a powerful punch, if your interested, 13,000bhp using 700 galls of fuel per hour and travelling at 40 mph.

Thank UkuleleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your compliments of our crew and service. Many first time guests are amazed by the power of our vessels comparing them to a jet soaring across the water. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back aboard. Best Regards, Key West Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing