We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your friendly neighborhood kayak company!”

Everglades Kayak Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Everglades City and directly across from Everglades National Park, this rental and tour location offers easy access to the beautiful Halfway Creek. The bottom of the Turner River is also accessible from this location.We have a total of 3 water locations plus a full service retail store. Guided Tours are also available
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We rented a tandem boat from Russ and the Everglades Kayak Company during a university trip to the area. They not only loaned us a great 'yak for the week, but they also brought the boat to our location and helped us put together a washing station once the trip was done! The trip was delayed multiple times by inclement weather and other unexpected circumstances, but Russ was patient and generous from the first moment to the last. Utterly above and beyond all expectations. 10/10 would recommend!

Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ V, General Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Hannah,
Glad to help fellow travellers in need. Besides, Dennis needed the exicitment of a bunch of whiper snappers pressure washing in the front yard! Nessy the Necky will be waiting for another adventure should the university need.
See you next year,
Russ
Everglades Kayak Company
239-207-2482

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"turner river"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"hobie"
in 2 reviews
"paddling"
in 6 reviews
"equipment"
in 3 reviews
"waterway"
in 2 reviews
"kayak"
in 10 reviews
"turtles"
in 2 reviews
"tunnel"
in 4 reviews
"everglades"
in 15 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

On Memorial Day weekend 2017 my wife and I rented a kayak from Everglades Kayak Co. We rented a Hobie tandem Oasis kayak with the mirage drive pedal system. The boat also featured the new seats Hobie offers. I cannot recall the name of the seats, but they are like a lawn chair with a high back. They are extremely comfortable and adjustable. The boat seemed brand new. A young man named Lawrence gave us our basic operating instructions. We paddled across the bay and up a waterway for a bit. As we were outgoing having the tide with us we were careful not to go too far. We stopped on a sandbar to stretch our feet a bid then headed back into the current. We were pretty exhausted by the time we made it back, but we had a great little 2 hour trip. Lawrence could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend this outfit if you plan on renting a kayak in Everglades City. The staff was great and the equipment was perfect.

Thank bebo2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples K, Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for the nice review

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Overall a nice place with nice boats. It was a pretty long paddle to Halfway Creek, though, so I'd advise using a shuttleboat. Granted we were paddling with young kids, but it took us almost an hour to paddle to the "nice" part of Halfway Creek (i.e. past the trailer park). I'd advise using a shuttleboat further in the the beautiful backcountry or the keys, and then paddling from there.

Be sure to check the tides so you aren't paddling against the current. I'd also go in the morning to avoid the wind.

Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Owner at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Hi John, thank you for the nice review and for all the great paddling tips! We are glad that you had fun with your family.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Went with a group on the mangrove tunnels tour. Guide was good on safety and knew enough about the animals & plants to keep it interesting. Went with a guide because we don't know the area at all. Next time we'll rent a kayak and guide ourselves.

Thank northerngirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Public Relations Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us the great feedback! Come back and see us soon!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We wanted to do an eco-firendly Tour in the Everglades and luckily i found and booked the Turner River Kayak Tour with Guide Regis Good. It was a wonderful, unique experience. We met at Glades Haven Marina in Everglades City in the morning and then Regis took us in his Van to the Turner River. It was just the two of us and the guide, that was so great! He gave us an introduction on how to behave with the kayak and the wildlife and then we started. We had absolutely no experience in kayaking before but Regis explained it very well so it was absolutly no problem and very funny. He told us a lot about the wildlife, we saw beautiful plants and animals and paddling through the mangrove-tunnel was absolutely amazing. Althou we were there in July the mosquitoes were not agressive.
Regis took a lot of time to show us everything interesting, we paid for a 3-hours tour be we and even he enjoyed it so much that we did it almost 5 hours!
Regis also told many stories of his adventures in the Everglades. I really want to thank Regis for this great experience and can highly recommend to do the Kayak tour with him!!
I think this tour is the best way to get to see the real Everglades and also the price is absolutely reasonable!

And an advice: In my opinion it was very hard to find a tour like this on the internet and i had to seach for it very long but luckily i found the website of Everglades Kayak Company.
I wrote an e-mail to evergladeskayak@gmail.com and soon got an answer from Regis!

1  Thank Bettina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaplesKayakCompany, Public Relations Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Hey Bettina,
We are so glad you had such a great experience, come back and see us soon!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Kayak Company also viewed

 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing