We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer
Ranked #7 of 410 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer is a locally-owned & operated, casual, family friendly seafood restaurant on the Destin Harbor. The name Brotula's is derived from the Bearded Brotula or Cusk Eel that is caught right here in the local waters at depths of 350 feet. It is one of the best kept secrets among the local fishing community and some amazing tasting fish. Here at Brotula's we specialize in fresh, locally-sourced seafood, produce, and a wide array of steamed and boiled shellfish platters that are integrated into a fun and rustic, yet sophisticated southern fish house. Some of our most popular dishes includes the steamed snow crab, lobsters, and mussels. The Chef Inspired menu will display a wide variety of flavors, with focuses on New South culinary preparations of traditional coastal offerings from around the country. Come and join us for a one-of-a-kind dining experience!
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Food was really good, priced reasonably
We sat by the window at sunset & it was incredible. Would visit again on our return trip to ft Walton beach

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ConnieB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Connie, thank you for the high rating! It's wonderful to know you had an excellent time with us. We hope you'll be back our way soon.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

The atmosphere, service and food was excellent! Very friendly. Every time I have been to this place my experience gets better and better. Thank you Connor who was our server She was outstanding!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passenger18572192719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the excellent review! We work really hard to serve up the best dishes along with amazing service -- we’re glad that was reflected during your time with us. Looking forward to the next time you make it our way.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Found this place empty early on a Sunday evening, even though the other nearby seafood restaurants with a view of the water were busy. Tried this place because of their create-your-own seafood boils. You select the type of seafood (at different prices), sides, seasonings, and sauces and 15-20 minutes later you get a platter as you specified. We tried the royal red shrimp - very large and sweet and easy to peel and eat. Overall, the boils were delicious. With a pound of shrimp and a side or two, about $25-30. Service was incredibly accommodating given the number of questions we had.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CTMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It sounds like you caught us on an exceptionally slow night! Thank you so much for the excellent review. We work really hard to serve up good food with good service -- we’re glad that was reflected during your time with us. Looking forward to the next time you make it our way.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

HIGH FIVE! Lived the ambiance and food was excellent. Jon took amazing care of us and was very engaging. Service was perfect.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank pgmorrisjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It's wonderful to know you had an excellent experience. Looking forward to the next time you make it back our way.

All the best,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

My co worker and i went for lunch. Amazing view out back. Our server Jon was very knowledgeable of the menu and of the Destin area. He was awesome to talk to. The food...OMG soo fresh!!! Tasted like they just pulled the fish out of the ocean and the mashed potatoes made me want to order another meal to go lol. Priced well...if you want a REALLY GOOD MEAL this is the place to go.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler J, Owner at Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you joined us for lunch, Angela. You can always count on the freshest catches to be served up here. We look forward to welcoming both of you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Chris and Tyler, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Brotula's Seafood House & Steamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing