We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good upmarket Spanish restaurant ”

Bellmont Spanish Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bellmont Spanish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 390 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Cuisines: Spanish, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Distinctive and elegant, carefully combining sophistication and tradition to fascinate the most demanding clientele of Coral Gables, Miami. Bellmónt Spanish Restaurant, established in 2013, is a family-owned and operated eatery committed to delight the most exquisite palates with fresh, made from scratch, traditional Spanish Cuisine. Book your special celebration in this Award Winning "2016 City Beautiful" for its Outstanding Dining Room. With a maximum capacity of 120 people, Bellmónt features a gorgeous hand-made wine bar, a custom-made Ibérico ham corner "La Jamonería, and a traditional 14,500 pounds wood-fired oven brought from Spain. Bellmónt is proud to be the only restaurant in Miami roasting suckling pigs "cochinillo a la leña," and lamb, in their wood-fired oven, the traditional way. Bellmónt's food is superb, prepared with love and with ingredients of utmost quality. Bellmónt Spanish Restaurant serves the authentic taste to Spain. Live music is offered every Friday night.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is an upmarket Spanish restaurant in Coral Gables and it serves high quality Spanish food with a large selection of (mostly) Spanish wine by the glass. I enjoyed it as it is high quality. Recommended

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank rickyspa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2018

Service experience outstandingRoom atmosphere cozy and not too noisy - acceptableGood location, amenities very good, valet parking very convenient - short walkFood was exquisite, entertainment was out of this world - least liked was - little too pricey especially if is a family reunion - most children don't eat much and don't like that kind of food

Date of visit: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Cruiser56588115031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioC_Bellmont, Owner at Bellmont Spanish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Thank you for your comments and for taking some of your time writing us a review.
We have kids menu available and some other items off the menu in case some guests require special food accommodations.

We truly appreciate it.
Kind Regards,

Sergio Catalina Bellmónt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2018

all of the food was outstanding, and the owner was very friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere was great, and the live entertainment was unexpected and very nice

Date of visit: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Adventure39683725432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioC_Bellmont, Owner at Bellmont Spanish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments, Merry Christmas!

Sergio Catalina Bellmónt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2018

We had our Christmas Party At Bellmont we had an amazing time. The food was excellent everyone loved the food and the atmosphere,we also enjoyed music and had an amazing time. Each of the employees came the next day to thank us for taking them to Bellmont they all continue to express the amazing food and music.

Date of visit: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Sightsee46377455036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2018

We decided to try this place as we had gone by on a couple occasions and both times the place was crowded so I assumed food was good or at least decent. We went with my parents in law and left prior to dessert, angry we had chosen this place to eat without further inquiry. The food was absolutely terrifying, to the point we really wondered if their chef had quit the day before. Here are the "highlights" of this odd meal:
1. Spanish croquetas were dry, mushy inside and cold, we assume they were fried earlier in the day and warmed on a microwave for us.
2. Cod-filled peppers: the filling was thick and stiff and when you tried cutting the peppers it popped out.
3. Wine: they use an odd device to serve the wine. Instead of uncorking the bottle, the device inserts a needle into the cork, but they use exactly the same needle and device for all bottles so it contaminates the wine you are drinking.
4. When they took the appetizer plates off the table, they left the dirty silver-wear lying on the table. I had to ask the waitress for new silver-wear.
4. Main course: we ordered the corvina, a stuffed trout and a squid-ink paella. The waitress could not even distinguish between the corvina and the trout (amazing!). She asked who has the corvina? I raised my hand and got the trout (this shows poor training).
5. The main courses: both fish entrees came with baked potatoes which were half baked, looked pale and were completely inedible - tasted terribly. The fish also laid in a bed of greens with tomato pieces. In Spain they would NEVER serve fish this way. Then about the black-squid paella: it was completely tasteless. It's as if white rice had been cooked in plain water and then tainted with black ink.
6. Oh and the ambient: they brought some folks to sing christmas carols. IN A SPANISH RESTAURANT? This was bizarre.
After terrible appetizers and main course it was clear dessert would have been the climax to a catastrophe. We swiftly ordered the check and left.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioC_Bellmont, Owner at Bellmont Spanish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Dear Alex:
Thanks for taking your time by writing us a review. Kindly see my comments below. Kindly note we accept critics and constructive comments and review the best way, I do not think there is need to be disrespectful, nor lucubrating about our food or assuming =>taking by granted false testimonies. That is not right.

1. We make everything in house, from start to end, from tapas, to main courses, everything is made to order.
2. The stuffed piquillo red peppers are stuffed in the spot and sauce made in the precise moment is served.
3. The odd device is Coravin; it has been in the market for over 5 years, and over 8 years in Europe. Please read a bit about it and educate yourself about wine. There is no contamination, no change of properties, no spoiled wine, nor oxidized wine, ....., just only a good quality glass of wine every time is served by the glass.
4. Probably she did not have a replacement right in her hand; that is easily solved asking for an extra set of utensils, the same way if a napkin is needed; common sense.
4. You did not order corvina; you ordered Cantabric sea-bass and white trout. I am amazed on how you could not distinguish, nor knowing what fish was ordered!
5. Fish came with Panadera potatoes; baked potatoes with caramelized onions, parsley, garlic and olive oil; common sense too. We cook the arroz negro with real black ink squid from Northern Spain; it might be you are used to the taste of artificial ink squid or similar coloring substitutes.
6. Ohh boy! You got me on this one. You came on December 15th 2018. IT'S Christmas season!!! This is bizarre!!

On top of all your comments, I was the one who picked up your empty plates at your table, and asked if everything was fine.

I understand you did not enjoy your dinner nor the entertainment; but could have expressed it a lot better than with your damaging and disrespectful tone and wording used.

Note we take constructive comments and reviews the best way and learn about our mistakes; unfortunately this is not the case. By just criticizing Christmas carols and ALL our food when we had our dining room full and all other patrons were clapping and having a good time with the live music, when you finished it all indicates your whole purpose was to damage and make the most harm possible; that is ok, you did not accomplish it.
I hope you take my subjective and partial opinion the same way we take yours.
Always spread the good and Merry Christmas, whether you like it or not = time of Joy!

Sergio Catalina Bellmónt.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellmont Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Bellmont Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing