We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Unique Caribbean Dishes”

Ortanique on the Mile
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 390 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This restaurant was delicious! The bar area is really nice and serves really unique and great drinks. The spicy passion fruit mixed drink was great. Really robust Caribbean rum selection as well. The bread at the table is great. We had crab cakes and conch fritters as an appetizer. There was a lot of fish on the menu, so I chose one and ordered it with a side of passion fruit chimichurri sauce (that came with the steak, but they brought it anyways). Dessert menu was just my style, about 10 different ones to choose from with a chocolate specialty and plenty of options with local in-season fruit. It's on the pricier side, but you eat a really great meal. I will definitely be back. Note: limited lighting, but the menus have built-in lights to help see them. Allow yourself plenty of time.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Food Is different, hood service, not too loud like most restaurants lately! A bit pricey for a neighborhood restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Difficult to read the menu due to low lighting level. However, food & service were excellent. Cocktails rather delicious.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Argakaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We had a party of 12 celebrating my husbands 40th birthday. The service for a large group was great and the prices were very responsible. I had the swordfish and it was cooked to perfection. My friend who is a meat and potatoes girl said her steak was better than the steak she got the previous night at Flemings. Would highly recommend Ortanique on the Mile.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jrpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

From all reviews here and elsewhere I expected an amazing experience. It was not bad at all but not amazing. The space is quite dark and to see the menu I had to use my flashlight. It was full but not crowded and people seemed to enjoy themselves. Service was friendly, helpful. The food was good but, impressed by the book by their chef and the fact they do culinary classes, I expected more of a gourmet experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

 

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing