We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Sand Key Park
from US$543.79
More Info
from US$118.79
More Info
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveler rating
1,001
489
124
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,001
489
124
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clearwater beach nice beach food truck restroom facilities public beach across the bridge pinellas county crowded beach chairs and umbrellas an umbrella sea shells gulf of mexico fish picnic beaches sunset lifeguards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021

I was a bit disappointed because I was expecting more of a hiking-trail park and most paths here just lead to the beach. I did find one circular foot path through boring brush that went in a circle and dumped me off where it started after about five minutes of walking.

The beach itself is nice if you are looking for something less crowded than nearby Clearwater Beach. The northern shore of the park has great views of Clearwater Beach across the water.

One interesting thing I saw near a sign saying "Construction Work Ahead" was a thick, huge, very, very long snake of some kind (see photos). I was scared to get too close.

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed walking around Sand Key Park a great deal, it’s fairly quiet, the sand is amazing and it’s easy to get to.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank douglasp636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

Decided to check this out after a breakfast stop in Sand key. Very nice park with a large beach and ample parking. Parking is a 5 dollar flat rate from sunrise to sunset per day. We were they at low tide after a stormy night. The beach had some pretty cluttered sections from things washed ashore. I assume that the sand is groomed like Clearwater beach is although we didn't see that while there. I think this is a good option if Clearwater beach is too busy.

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank Piranha44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

...clear water, plenty of parking, lots of room on deep sandy beach, $5 parking, dog park, excellent vistas, not as crowded as nearby Clearwater Beach area...a bit of old time Florida type park....

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank 232elained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2021

Sand Key Park is where we often go when we want to avoid the hustle and bustle of touristy Clearwater Beach. It is a Pinellas County park (part of the county's incredible and extensive park system), and parking is a bargain at just $5 a day. Although the beach is not as broad and brilliantly white as the world-famous Clearwater Beach across the bridge, Sand Key Beach is nevertheless lovely, quiet, and pristine. If you enjoy long walks on the beach, you can follow the beach south past the park for miles of shoreline flanked by condo buildings. The park also offers a lovely little nature trail and a dog park, although dogs are not allowed on the beach itself.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank ClearwaterSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews