We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good seafood for a party of 8 - one miss”

Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes
Ranked #40 of 96 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 October 2016

5 adults and 3 children in our dinner party. Crayons on paper tablecloth entertained the 3 kids. Carmelized salmon and oysters rockefeller were enjoyed by the adults. 2 kids meals were standard fare for 2 of the kids. Third child ordered grilled salmon which was dry and over cooked. Service was very good; restaurant is noisy even on a weeknight in the fall.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank meddy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thanks so much for coming in to see us and taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed our food and service and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were there for lunch and were not disappointed. We started with the calamari and it was lightly breaded and flash fried so there was no excess oil on the calamari. They serve it with a great sauce. We both ordered the lobster rolls which came with chips but we ordered it with fries. I really don't like they charge $2 for fries, to me it should come with meal. There was a lot of lobster and we had traditional style.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roytan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Went to Matt's Fish Camp in Lewes (there's another one, the original, in Bethany Beach) with a group of men out to have lunch together. It was the first time for many of us, and we were all happy with the choice.

As the name suggests the restaurant features seafood and it has a raw bar. I had the fish filet sandwich with cheese ($12). It came with lots of homemade potato chips which were quite good and with MFC Pickles which turned out to be pickled veggies. They were good, too.

Several of the group got the lobster roll ($22) and they were all smiles. The crab cake sandwich ($17) got compliments for the large lumps of crabmeat. Someone ordered the fish and chips ($18) and was almost overwhelmed - 4 big filets and loads of fries. Two ordered the Double Stack ($14), two Angus beef patties with cheese and special sauce. Again lots of satisfaction.

There were lots of beers and wines to choose from and of course iced tea, and soda - even milk shakes.

We all had a good tome , enjoyed the food and the service was very good. They even let us have separate checks.

A very good choice for lunch and dinner, too.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank practans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words and for choosing to come dine with us. We are so glad your group enjoyed the dining experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Every trip to the beach hubby and I try out a new local restaurant and since this trip included our Golden Retriever Riley I needed to find pet friendly ones. We had noticed the Matt's Fish Camp when down over the summer but the Lewes one offers outdoor seating so we headed there for lunch on a Friday afternoon. I love the decor of the place and there's plenty of parking surrounding the restaurant. Even though it was cloudy and a little breezy that day we found a seat at one of the picnic tables outside and our server, Kari, immediately greeted us and got us started with some drinks. We already knew what we wanted before we got there - I went with the Warm Lobster Rolls with Crabby Fries and Hubby got the Crab Cake Sandwich with Chips and Kari informed us that those were the 2 house favorites. Both of our meals also included House made pickles and pickled veggies which were amazing. From start to finish our meal was perfect, the Lobster Roll was filled with warm lobster meat and Hubby said his Crabcake was perfectly seasoned and filled with delicious crab meat and very litter filler and topped with a red, ripe tomato and fresh lettuce and both of us thought the Crabby Fries were quite possibly the best thing we ever tasted (and hubby really regretted his decision to go with the chips, that's for sure). Our service was A+ and it's clear to see that everyone pitches in to ensure the customer gets the best dining service possible, a hostess even brought us out fresh drinks before our first ones were half gone and checked to make sure we were satisfied. We'll be spending Thanksgiving in Dewey and will definitely be enjoying another meal here when in town, I'm thinking the Chicken and Waffles.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for the excellent review and we are so glad you had such a great dining experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The place is decorated comfortably with a mix of booths, tables bar seating. The colors and lighting are crisp with a nautical theme but not overdone. The food is what you expect from this group: fresh seafood, some classic dishes like lobster roll, and some new twists. Service was friendly and prompt. Selection of craft beers could stand to be more extensive. Prices are about average for the area, which are a little higher than non-tourist towns.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank jedecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Marketing at Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we always appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matt's Fish Camp - Lewes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing