We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical roadside food. It's ok but isn't going to wow you with flavor.”
Review of David's Place

David's Place
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Oakdale
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2018

If you have ever eaten at Scotties or Harry's place then you know the drill for the food. It's alright in a pinch, but you could easily make better at home. Service was great and the place was shockingly clean. The food is cheap so it certainly beats Wendy's or McDonalds if you are in a bind.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curious_Chemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018

The six year old couldn't eat the fries because they had a strange taste. I wasn't sure if it was old oil, fish fry oil or onion ring fry oil, or bad tasting frozen french fries. The frozen burgers and frozen hot dogs did not taste very good, and whatever you do do not order the spinach pie. The sliced yellow onions sitting under the plastic wrap were once white onions. According to the sign, they need wait people. That is an understatement. An hour later I still can't get the weird taste out of my mouth. I should have driven to Colchester.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GrotonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is a place that always has a group of people outside. Don’t let that turn you away. Service is fast and correct. The food is good and very affordable. Don’t pass this place up when you are in the area

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank DeniseCapazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We visited the antique store across the street and just wanted a quick bite. So we pulled in and were the only two inside which was a little nice. I waitress was young and very friendly. I got a lobster roll based on Yelp reviews, and my husband got two chili dogs. The food was tasty and their french fries were really good also.

The place was immaculately clean. The bathrooms, the dining room... everything. It seems like it's a popular local spot in the summer for ice cream and fried seafood.

Cute place I would definitely go back.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank SNUZYQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A perfect spot for families or couples to top of a day on the way home from the beach. We visited after spending time at the dinosaur trails. The food was served hot and the clams were outstanding.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank happytraveler552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Place also viewed

Oakdale, Mystic Country
 

Been to David's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing