We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh No!”

Olde Tymes Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 119 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family Style restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. Reservations can be made for family groups on holidays. Upstairs dining area can be reserved for business meetings and smaller gatherings. Option to order from the menu or from the catering menu choices.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Found this place while looking for a spot that served a late breakfast. I found the food to be delicious and the service was good as well. 2 stars because the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Coming from NYC I could only compare it to a dirty subway. My girlfriend said the woman's bathroom was even worse than what I was describing with it not having toilet paper or hand soap. How does the staff wash their hands?

Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Manager at Olde Tymes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Oh no! Nick that's not what we want to hear. So sorry that the bathroom was in disarray. We have hand soap dispensers on the wall, and yes sometimes customers actually don't see them, they expect to see soap pumps on the edge of the sink. We could have run out of paper, it does happen during really busy times. The staff gets in there after their shift to refill, but we hope that our customers would let the Host on duty know if they run out so they can send a utility person in asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Great breakfast. My wife and I had gone there for breakfast last week. I got the sugar cinnamon french toast. Featured on the food network many years ago. To die for. Excellent. My wife got the traditional eggs, sausage , grits and english muffin. Food was great. The coffee there is outstanding. Service is great.
Great staff. Lots of parking. Moderate prices. Highly recommended. Only 5 mins to Mohegan Sun casino.

1  Thank copper2056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsgrandma, Manager at Olde Tymes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Our specialty item you enjoyed is called Cinnamon Crisp, it is dipped and deep fried French toast item. It will remain on the menu for a long time since it's a fan favorite.. So thrilled you enjoyed your other items as well. Hope to see you back in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Big portions and reasonable! Been there several times and will always go for lunch whenever in town!

Thank Sekjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Public Relations Manager at Olde Tymes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the simple but effective review! come visit us again when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Stopped here for breakfast after a friend told us to try the place. The restaurant looks like it is an old house.The inside is very interesting: exposed wood beams, antiques everywhere, and magnets representing each US state. Plenty to see everywhere you look.

We were there around 845am on a Friday and there was only one other booth of customers but many tables were filled with dirty dishes from previous customers. Perhaps they were short staffed... The menu had many interesting items that sounded good. We ordered breakfast and it were decent, nothing special but the portions were good.

I would try Olde Tymes again, perhaps we caught them on an off day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Public Relations Manager at Olde Tymes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you for your review Richard. As you noted, our busy breakfast rush on Friday's is prior to 9am traditionally. We would love it if you would indeed try us on another day. We try to keep our menu up to date as well as maintain some long time fan favorites such as our Cinnamon Crisp. We encourage you to give it a try, promise you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

They offer all types of breakfast foods, including southern favorites. The breakfast is always hot and fresh, and the service is great. Lunch and dinner are average. They have a menu with a good variety of options, and the service is always good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra W, Public Relations Manager at Olde Tymes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Carol, we appreciate all reviews, of course we would like to make all our customers happy enough to give us a rave review with 5 stars. If there is anything you would enjoy seeing added to the lunch and/or dinner menu please feel free to email us and let us know. We are open 7 days a week from 7am-8pm, therefore we want to offer options at all times of the day that you will enjoy. white.debra.a@gmail.com Debbie, Sales manager & event coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tymes Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Olde Tymes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing