We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food! Good staff!”
Review of Illiano's Grill

Illiano's Grill
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Welcome to Illiano's Grill located in Yantic Connecticut. We have been serving up authentic southern Italian cuisine since we first opened our doors in 1997. We pride ourselves in using the best ingredients, whether it is high quality mozzarella to top our thin crust brick oven pizzas or fresh seafood to make our customer favorites like flounder Florentine. We know the importance of fresh foods and promise to never compromise. Illiano's Grill also offers a full catering menu. For your next event, sit back, relax, and leave the cooking to the pros. Available for Take Out and for on-site private parties and special events. If you are looking for a comfortable relaxed setting to have dinner out, look no further than our dining room. The hand painted pictures by Paul Illiano hanging on the walls and Italian music in the background will be sure to have you feeling like part of our family before the appetizers arrive. All of our dishes are made to order and our menu is sure to please everyone in the family, from pizza to pasta, fresh salads and soups to gourmet Italian classics.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

When you first walk in you face their take-out counter. Don't worry. Turn left and go in to the dining room. Simple but pleasant atmosphere and friendly, attentive waitresses. Your choice of pizza, grinders, and calzones or take in the dinner menu with meat, fish, or pasta based meals. Homemade soups and salads are also available. Most dishes have an Italian accent. I have tried many choices and have found all to be very good. I would skip the desserts though they're rather "blah". Service is fast and the staff are very knowledgeable about all the ingredients. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wallace4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo R, Owner at Illiano's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

It sounds like you've made your way through our menu and found a few favorites -- that's great to hear! We're passionate about serving you delicious Italian dishes, so we appreciate your feedback. It's a bit disappointing to hear that the dessert options haven't impressed you as much as everything else has, so we'll be looking into ways to improve this. All this to say, we're grateful for your support and look forward to the next time you make it our way!

Best,
The Illiano's Grill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We were passing through the area on the way back from visiting the sunflowers and decided to stop at this restaurant. We both ordered angel hair pasta with sun-dried tomatoes, garlic and shrimp. Service was attentive and our meals arrived very quickly. An added bonus was the very warm bread and oil. We needed an extra oil and the server had it for us in a minute. Price was reasonable with a good selection of bottle and draft beer and wine. Glad we picked this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo R, Owner at Illiano's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the angel hair pasta with garlic and shrimp as well as the homemade bread, Bernie! Thanks for stopping by our place on your road trip, and we hope you'll make it back our way again soon for another delizioso Italian meal.

Best,
The Illiano's Grill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Pleasant atmosphere, clean and comfortable dining area. Wonderful and attentive waitstaff.Very good food, generous portions with more than enough selections.

Thank Nitramj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo R, Owner at Illiano's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

It sounds like you enjoyed a delicious meal and nice visit, Nitramj -- that's great! We sure hope you'll make it back soon to discover more favorite items on our menu.

Till next time!
The Illiano's Grill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing, Super Friendly staff--- and their boasting about their homemade sauce is right on; their sauce is perfection: fresh and sweet. We got the lasagna dinner with salad. We very much liked the balsamic dressing for the salad. The only bust was the roll, which I am big on good bread--but the roll we got had a bitter taste to it.

Thank Northfielder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo R, Owner at Illiano's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

A delicious lasagna accompanied with our homemade sauce and balsamic salad makes for great dinner, so we're glad you stopped in and enjoyed it! Since our recipes are authentic, it's disappointing to hear you weren't impressed with the rolls as well, but we'll be sure to look into this and see how we can improve. All this to say, we're appreciative of your support and hope you'll make it back our way again soon.

All the best,
The Illiano's Grill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2017

first clue: only three parties in outside patio on a Saturday night. The mud-splattered tent walls behind our heads did nothing for the ambience. We asked for wine, and without checking with us, waiter brought two glasses instead of a bottle. We asked politely if we could get two more glasses for the price of a bottle, and the wine menu was pushed at us with "no, it says right here." well, okay, we started eating our dinner only to discover a dead (closed up) clam on the plate. Immediately stopped eating and mentioned it to the waiter. This caused the chef to ramble out to our table and argue that the clam wasn't dead, just hard to open. We were the only ones dining at that point, so paid, left, and shook our heads all the way home. Never again. Apparently here the customer is never right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo R, Owner at Illiano's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

I'm disappointed that this is the impression we left you with, Kate. Overall, it sounds like our service and communication that night missed the mark, and for that I truly apologize. To start it off, we should have more clearly communicated your options for wine that evening, and I'm sorry that you didn't get to enjoy the bottle you had your eye on. As for the clams, whenever you steam the shellfish, there are typically a handful that don't open upon hitting the heat. Those unopened clams aren't unsafe, but rather they just were stubborn about opening. It's typical that we throw those out, but it's for no other reason that to make sure they don't take up room on your plate. I'm sorry if we didn't give you that context when you found the unopened shell.

Since it seems like we didn't get off on the right foot, we hope you can give us another shot soon. We know we can impress you the second time around.

All the best,
The Illiano's Grill Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illiano's Grill also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Illiano's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing