We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great show in Mystic”
Review of Mystic Dark Room

Mystic Dark Room
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mystic Dark Room is an intimate show lounge offering unique entertainment experiences, accommodating its guests with all front row seating, allowing all who enter to feel like a VIP. Up a winding staircase, past the iron and brass gates, guests escape into a chic metro-loft atmosphere, ornamented with leather couches, private tables, larger than life concert style sets, lighting and special effects. This year’s line-up includes adult’s only fare with Grab weekend evenings in the fall. In December, Nutcracker Spectacular is the holiday hit that is returning from Foxwood’s Grand Theater to make Mystic its new home, with an extravaganza that’s family oriented and packed with edge of your seat excitement. February shifts gears back to an adult evening line-up with Flash perfect for sharing with a Valentine, and March marks the encore season of The Little Mermaid a Broadway style “dancical” that enchanted children and families last spring. Guests attending Grab or Flash are invited to BYOB, relax and unwind with wine, champagne, ale or brew - or their non-alcoholic beverage of choice. Following all shows, the soirée continues with intriguing interactions between guests and artists - we encourage you to take advantage of the dance floor and light show.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 April 2018

great show at the Mytic Ballet. You should check their schedule while visiting the region, it worth the evening

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 23Gianni23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desire s, Manager at Mystic Dark Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for the review, and recommending Mystic Dark Room's evening shows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"little mermaid"
in 13 reviews
"front row"
in 3 reviews
"talented performers"
in 2 reviews
"future shows"
in 2 reviews
"great performance"
in 2 reviews
"take photos"
in 2 reviews
"choreography"
in 8 reviews
"ballet"
in 7 reviews
"production"
in 3 reviews
"cast"
in 3 reviews
"audience"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 3 reviews
"matinee"
in 2 reviews
"humour"
in 3 reviews
"concludes"
in 2 reviews
"life"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

I took my 5 year old daughter to see Mystic ballets production of The Little Mermaid because she was fascinated with the movie and mermaids in general at the moment. Going in we didn't know what to expect other than that the setting would be intimate and in the Dark Room which we had visited previously during a tour of the school. The dancers were masters obviously and performed as such, combined with the soundtrack and choreography my daughter was actually on the edge of her seat the entire performance. To keep a 5 year old that engrossed is no easy task. Incredible performance for such cozy space, great energy and we both loved every minute of it.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bigzinewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desire s, Manager at Mystic Dark Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for the great review! We love to perform for children, and when the Dad's love it too, we are just over the moon! So glad that you enjoyed the concept of Mystic Dark Room and the show. We are proud to have been a part of your Father/Daughter day, looking forward to performing again for you and your daughter soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We saw The Little Mermaid and our three year old son was completely entranced for the whole performance. The music was a perfect blend of the Disney tunes and non-Disney. We felt like we were on broadway in our own backyard. The dancers mingled with the crowd after word. It is a completely intimate setting and in and beautiful location. Don’t hesitate to go see a performance at Mystic Dark Room - you won’t be disappointed! Our family will definitely be back and will be recommending this to friends!

Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desire s, Manager at Mystic Dark Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for the recommendation, and review! Our cast loved performing for your family and your son, he was on the edge of his seat! Meeting the children of the audience following the shows is inspiring to us, we love to see them caught up in the story and enthralled. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another performance, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I was not expecting to be so entertained by a childs fairytale but ended up awed by every aspect of the performance. The quality of the dancing, the costumes, the choreography and the staging exceeded my expectations. I have traveled to Boston and New York to experience as much.

Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desire s, Manager at Mystic Dark Room, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thanks Andy for the recommendation and review. Absolutely thrilled to hear people compare us to big cities! We are proud to be putting Mystic on the entertainment map, producing shows that tourists and locals will love. Please continue to talk about us...looking forward to sharing another show with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This adaptation of The Little Mermaid was masterfully done! the performance was amazing, from the dancers to the set, to the overall intimate atmosphere in which the show was performed. I felt like I was part of the show as the dancers interacted with my family and I, and was completely mesmerized! I have seen performances by this company before and they never disappoint. A lovely experience every time!

Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desire s, Manager at Mystic Dark Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you Jennifer for the review and recommendation. Our goal is to have our audience's experience full of engagement and interaction, comments like yours inspire our team to stay super creative! Thanks for coming back to see us, we look forward to entertaining you and your family again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Dark Room also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Dark Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing