We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
85
31
13
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
31
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel valet parking donut shop great decor dark wood beautiful hotel nice boutique re open contemporary style duplex suite beautiful ballroom modern amenities gorgeous room large bathroom full bath max downtown valet staff
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Husband found this place while seeking lodging for a Saturday night. Were used to stay in hotel chains, but this place looked good so we booked a room. Can’t say enough of our stay. Location - very safe near the xl center. Free street parking on saturdays and sundays, room was huge. Loved the smart tv, sofa, king bed very comfy. Loved the blanket. Only ‘problem’ was that the shower glass only covered half of the shower near the water . Water can get the floor a little wet. Comp breakfast was good. Sitting area could use more larger tables.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend getaway and had an amazing time! The room was spacious and nicely decorated. William at the front desk was awesome, thank you for making our checkin easy and enjoyable! Will be recommending this hotel to all my friends!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudette S, General Manager at The Goodwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Jessica0407,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Goodwin Hotel. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our boutique style and that William provided an especially warm welcome. There are many components that go into having a positive stay and it's wonderful that William was able to be a part of this!

Thank you for visiting our hotel and we look forward to all of your future visits to Hartford!

Claudette Sasso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The rooms are well appointed: comfortable beds, chairs, sofa, plenty of drawers, and a closet. The bathroom was spacious, but there was only one hook (that makes it boutique). There are good restaurants within walking distance. We used the valet service which was courteous and prompt. The staff were courteous and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank ComradeHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This is an architectural gem in the middle of a glass-and-steel city. Surrounded by boxy mirrored skyscrapers and a drab "financial district" seriousness, the Goodwin is an old-fashioned, gorgeous, break from its neighbors. But the 'old' does not translate to what they have created inside....

The common areas and the rooms alike are all smartly refurbished and appointed with high-end details with a modern look and feel worthy of coverage in any decor magazine feature.... wood and glass and tile etc.

A nice breakfast is included, and the valet team was responsive.

The only points (minor) that I would suggest is to put some glassware in the guestrooms. With everything else being of upscale caliber, having to unwrap a plastic cup seems a bit wrong.

And also, the round table in my room was nice looking, but not the best for working at (laptop, papers, etc.). A rectangular table would be much better... but again, minor.

Service was great, responsive but unobtrusive.

There is still a lot of construction going on here (looks like a restaurant is going in), but other than some signage, blocked areas, and a little noise in the lobby, you wouldn't even notice it. I imagine it will be stellar when completed.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island-time-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudette S, General Manager at The Goodwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Island-time-ny,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and taking the time to review The Goodwin Hotel. I am happy to hear, you enjoyed our property as much as we are happy to make it a positive experience.

I very much appreciate all of your feedback and we are taking steps towards your suggestions. Starting next week, all rooms will include glassware - as it is in the fine details that make any place shine.

Thank you again for your visit and look forward to your next trip to Hartford!

Thank you,
Claudette Sasso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Had the chance to stay at the Goodwin this past weekend. Rooms are well decorated. Beds are really comfortable. We've stayed at other hotels billed as boutique and some have been tacky. Not this one. Tastefully decorated. Pleasant staff - at front desk, valet and breakfast. Our large group all showed up at breakfast at the same time overwhelming the breakfast staff, but manager pitched in to expedite the situation. Highly recommend!

Room tip: Take your pick
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudette S, General Manager at The Goodwin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Goodwin Hotel and for your kind words. I am happy to hear you had such a pleasant stay and welcoming experience with our staff. We look forward to your future travels to Hartford!

Thank you,
Claudette Sasso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews