We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland pizza. Slow food. Poor beer selection.”

High Pie Pizzeria & Taproom
Ranked #19 of 53 Restaurants in Telluride
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar
Description: Pizzeria & Sport's Bar on Main St. in Telluride! Telluride's largest selection of Tap Beer, 24 to be exact. Craft cocktails, wine & fabulous food! A wide selection of cool pizzas, yummy salads with house made dressings, great appetizers and some fun deserts. Great for large groups & private parties Social Hour Specials Monday - Friday 3:30 to 5:30. Prefer takeout, no problem order online thru our Slice App. GRAB SOME!
Restaurant details
Description: Pizzeria & Sport's Bar on Main St. in Telluride! Telluride's largest selection of Tap Beer, 24 to be exact. Craft cocktails, wine & fabulous food! A wide selection of cool pizzas, yummy salads with house made dressings, great appetizers and some fun deserts. Great for large groups & private parties Social Hour Specials Monday - Friday 3:30 to 5:30. Prefer takeout, no problem order online thru our Slice App. GRAB SOME!
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Order was wrong and took forever. Beer selection was limited. Only had 2 of the 4 beers we ordered. To top it off the pizza was bland. Esp the crust. Pass

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank stephenU4750AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Seems we’re not alone in our experience based on other reviews...

I don’t like leaving one star reviews, but skip this place if you’re looking for hospitality. The hostess was rude from the start, apathetic about her job, and after sitting at our table for 20 minutes without a single employee so much as glancing in our direction we got up and left. On the way out we mentioned it to the hostess and her response was “ok, well that’s not my fault.” Perhaps so, but you do set the tone for your customers’ experience, and her attitude left a sour taste in my mouth.

It’s a bummer because the pizza looked delicious and from what we could tell almost all tables had food and/or drink. Guess we just came in at the wrong time.

Needless to say we found much better service (and food) just a few doors down.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

During our week long stay in the Telluride and Dolores are we ate here twice. Our first visit my wife and I ordered a Yard Sale without any mushrooms. We added the savory crust with garlic butter and parmesan cheese. The crust was very good. The pizza was cooked to perfection. The yellow peppers added a nice touch. A few days later we stopped back in Telluride to check out more dining options. Most places were closed at 11:00 AM. So we came back just before noon and we were seated right away. This place is very popular. Within ten minutes of opening there were over twenty people seated. This time we each ordered our own individual pizza's. I ordered the Rodeo, which had awesome sausage on it along with Canadian bacon, pepperoni, and hamburger. The flavors were very bold and accented by really good marinara sauce. The standard crust was perfect too! My wife ordered a Sundance pizza. For some reason it was missing the sun dried tomatoes. Even so, it was still really good. We didn't ask to send it back as they were so busy. Even being busy the service was excellent. If your travel take you to Telluride, this is the best place to get a wonderful pizza.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RnCinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

It is hard for me to rate almost anything five stars but this was close. We sat at the bar because the place was always busy. Our server aka bartender was a joy to talk to and Johnny on the spot. The beer selection is large and the pizza and salads are really well done. We had a spinach salad with walnuts and goat cheese. Very good! My wife had the shifty pizza on a cauliflower crust. She loved it. I had the yard sale on the house crust. Another winner. The staff is so good, helpful, and friendly. I recommend this establishment if you are in Telluride.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Cruiser29566249347
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Horrible service. As another reviewer posted, same server, Gabriel.
I can tips are based on service and if service is great so is the tip; if service is not so great, it's reflective in the tip.

When we arrived, we were told by two different wait staff someone will be right with you. We waited so long for someone to be right with us we almost left. That should have been a huge indication to leave and find someplace else to eat.

Once seated, took a long time just to place order. We ordered drinks and meals at same time. Drinks came right out. Food took a while. When food arrived we ordered another round of drinks as we waited so long for our food that both drinks and water were empty....

Water was never refilled. Second round of drinks arrived about 5 minutes after food was gone. Would have been nice to have the drinks with the food.

Thinking the waiter would bring our check soon especially with second round of drinks empty, he never showed. When he finally was close to our table, got his attention to ask for check. 10 minutes later finally was able to pay.

Not once while seated did our waiter check to see how the food was. We saw him when he took our order, when he brought first round of drinks, brought our food, brought second round of drinks, and when we paid. For a place that was not extremely busy, we were there for an hour and a half for a simple lunch.

I know help can be hard to come by, but a host would help (saw several groups walk out after standing for several minutes without even being acknowledged) and wait staff that actually is attentive would be really beneficial. Needless to say, I highly doubt we will go to this establishment again. We do visit Telluride on a regular basis.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Tundra970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Pie Pizzeria & Taproom also viewed

 

Been to High Pie Pizzeria & Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.