We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
46
24
9
2
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
24
9
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valley view hot springs pool noodles soaking pool the san luis valley hiking trails bath house sand dunes naturist nude pools sauna deer cabin colorado astronomy accommodations vv
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

If you want to be able to relax in natural hot springs nude this is the place for you. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Everyone we encountered was super nice. It was our first time to a clothing optional - naturist place and it was not weird or uncomfortable at all. Did the bat cave tour ( awesome view of the sunset and cool to see thousands of bats exit the cave), viewed stars through the telescopes and roasted marshmallows / made smores at the pavilion. Only complaints were that the mosquitoes were awful and there were lots of red ants in our cabin (spruce - but they took care of them). Be sure to bring your own towels for everything, bug spray and all the food and drink. What they have there is minimal and expensive. Also if you need special cooking utensils bring those too.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KimmieLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in the Aspen cabin. The accommodations were rustic but adequate. A double bed with a night stand, small refrigerator and a small table and chairs. It had a large community kitchen where everyone gathered to cook and eat. The main draw were the hot springs and the view. We enjoyed soaking in the hot springs. There was a pool that was fed from the hot springs. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The feeling there was very Woodstock. They said it was clothing optional but it was mostly nude. A good mix between young and old, with sometimes 2 & 3 generations of one family. We left left refreshed & renewed, knowing that we would return.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dtmautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I've been there twice, once solo and once with former girlfriend who was new to naturism. The setting is pretty spectacular. We were actually there in 2008 or so. We enjoyed hiking and photography in the area and at the bat cave. The only thing we didn't like was one indoor shared toilet facility. Hopefully they've changed the policy about that by now. Otherwise, Valley View is outstanding and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a small cabin.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasbr0wne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2016

If you want to see natural hot springs at a great price ($15 per person), this is the place. There is one large rectangular pool, but the rest of the pools are small enclosures where the springs naturally bubble up from the mountain side. Currently, there is a limit of 35 day visitors and 105 overnighters, for a max capacity of 140 to control the impact on trails and avoid overcrowding the hot springs. Overnight usage ranges from tent campsites to cabins. Unfortunately, we did not know this and they were completely full when we visited. However, one of the land stewards nicely offered to give us a walking tour of the hot springs.

Very rustic, off the grid site. Sauna is heated by on-site hydroelectricity. Extensive hiking trails. Large bat colony lives in the nearby Orient mine.

Site is clothing optional and restrooms and showers are coed. There is a communal kitchen. WiFi in the Welcome Center.

Site is nestled in the foothills, about 6 or so miles of dirt road off the highway.

Room Tip: None of the hotel ratings should apply. These are campsites or cabins.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKWh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Though the hot springs are the main attraction, this is foremost a nature preserve, that encompassing the valley and mountains on 2000 acres.Take the time to look around and you will find wildlife and stunning vistas beyond the pools. One of the best places I have found In Colorado to photograph wildlife particularly birds. The helpful staff with guide you on your journey.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank 315jimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews