We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Unique Experience for Family”

Alpine Adventures Dogsledding
Ranked #3 of 8 Tours in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 April 2018

So Joe from Georgia was our guide and he was very nice. My two boys, (ages 9 & 10) both loved driving the sled. We flipped over on a turn and that was exciting and no one was hurt. It was actually exciting. All 4 of us rode in sleigh and also drove. Keep in mind this is an open track but has amazing views. Port-a-potty’s not great, but oh well. Boots they give you are free for trip but not very warm so keep that in mind. Must do at least once while your in the area. Great thing to do other than ski which we needed a break from.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mcfarlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dog sledding"
in 49 reviews
"group tour"
in 5 reviews
"sled ride"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful backdrop"
in 3 reviews
"unique experience"
in 6 reviews
"hot cocoa"
in 4 reviews
"snow pants"
in 2 reviews
"christmas gift"
in 2 reviews
"book well in advance"
in 2 reviews
"young couple"
in 2 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 4 reviews
"super fun"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews
"bucket list item"
in 2 reviews
"porta potties"
in 3 reviews
"learn how"
in 2 reviews
"great activity"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I booked online and specifically remember selecting my date due to other travel commitments in addition to my own personal paranoia about booking the wrong date and their system posted the reservation to a day later. The company then called about concerns due to current conditions and we verbally agreed to the same date I originally intended but selected a different tour and time. We drove the two hours and were refused our reservation and a refund. It was incredibly disappointing to make the drive, to disappoint my 7 year old niece, and be out $600 with no acceptance of accountability on Alpine’s part.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jessie5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPriem, Owner at Alpine Adventures Dogsledding, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

How exactly is your inability to select the right day somehow our responsibility? Just for a quick recap... YOU booked yourself online, YOU picked which day you wanted from our booking calendar, YOU completed the reservation online via the website, just as thousands of other have successfully done with no problems. YOU opened, but obviously didn't actually read your confirmation email that comes immediately after booking, nor the reminder email that comes 24 hrs prior to your tour. These emails clearly show the date and time of your tour that YOU booked YOURSELF. Any changes to your reservation were done on the same day as your original reservation that YOU made. There is a digital footprint, showing date and time along with any changes, of everything that was ever done to your reservation throughout the entire process since it was first made online by you, so it's not even debatable as to what happened. It's all right there. You drove out to our location on the wrong day (what you thought was the right day, but obviously was not) and did not figure it out until you finally read your confirmation email when you were ~ 10 min away from us. We were completely full due to limited availability with the common spring heat. You're not the first person that managed to select the wrong day or booked themselves incorrectly, but the hope is that people will actually look at their confirmation details and catch something like that in advance. When you figure it out 10 min before you show up (on the wrong day when we're full), there isn't a whole we can do for you. But, please, tell me more about accountability... And I totally sympathize to your plight, where you drove out to us on the wrong day and didn't get to go on a tour. We obviously never want to see that happen. It's not fun to see little kids disappointed when they don't get to go.

Fortunately, we were able to re-book your original reservation with someone else since you were not going to be able to use your original spot that you booked. I see that you didn't bother to mention that of the original ~$600 with lunches, you were refunded over $450 of that. We were under no obligation whatsoever to do that, but we never double charge for tours. Even if someone has to cancel inside of the cancellation period, we will refund them if we are able to re-book their tour spot. By the way, you're welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We went dog sledding with Alpine Adventures as part of our girls trip and it was the highlight of our trip for all of us! Our guide Zack did a great job and was super fun. The dogs were so cute and absolutely could not wait to get going!! They were so friendly and well behaved! If we are ever back in the area we definitely want to come again!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Explorer615093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great time dog sledding! All members of the family had a chance to drive, including our 12 year old. It was a blast and the dogs were cute and hilarious. Our guide was super nice and gave great instructions. It was a VERY cold and snowy day, so be sure to dress appropriately. We would definitely do this again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 174SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Bought the group dog sledding as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend, and we had SO much fun on the tour! The dogs were so friendly and happy, and the guide Zach went above and beyond. I also love the "open kennel" policy. After the tour, we walked through the kennel and petted all of the other sweet pups. Such a great experience! Hope to come back next year!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mchaffi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Adventures Dogsledding also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Adventures Dogsledding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing