We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Inn Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Santa Clara University Inn(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri Motel(Santa Clara)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bella Vista Inn(Santa Clara)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
230
216
127
49
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
216
127
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsihop restaurantfront deskconverted motelmodern vibecommon roomsilicon valleymini fridgelevi stadiumholiday innbusiness tripan older hotelconvention centerhappy hourup to dateroom was clean and comfortableplenty of parkinggreat customer service
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location for Great America, within walking distance. Next to door to IHOP. There are also a few other food choices within 5 minutes. Staff was very welcoming and attentive. Room was clean and attended to regularly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ladae07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hruiz2017, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ladae07,

First and foremost please let me thank you for choosing Avatar Hotel during your recent trip, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service provided.

Your review encourage us to keep working hard and to accomplish always our main goal which is the complete satisfaction of all our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Howard Ruiz
Front Office Manager
hruiz@jdvhotels.com
Avatar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, excellent value for the money. Perfect for business traveler. While I agree it is basically a Motel that could use upgrading I nonetheless felt very comfortable in this place. It was clean and well kept and in a convenient location. I would stay here again. I did not experience too much road noise (I was on the 4th floor and it helped), it did not adversely affect my sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank The_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hruiz2017, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear The_travlr,

First and foremost please let me thank you for choosing Avatar Hotel during your recent trip, we are so delighted to hear that everything was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities and service provided.

Your review encourage us to keep working hard and to accomplish always our main goal which is the complete satisfaction of all our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Howard Ruiz
Front Office Manager
hruiz@jdvhotels.com
Avatar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shower cap over smoke detector in room with odor of marijuana in the room. Open marijuana smoking at the pool caused all the families to leave the pool. Hotel is turning a blind eye to this problem. Front desk staff not directing marijuana smokers to the appropriate area and away from families.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mzorro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hruiz2017, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Fox,

Thank you for your comments regarding your former stay with us.

We have reached you out by private message and are in direct communication with you.

Best regards,

Howard Ruiz
Front Office Manager
Avatar Hotel
hruiz@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Considering the nearby Marriott is dated, dusty, has small rooms, confusing layout and paid parking, this is a good option for the savings. The location is great, just 1 mile from a shopping center, restaurants, and Whole Foods. Great America and Levi stadium are also within a couple of miles. The room was clean and had a Keurig, mini fridge and quality toiletries. The rooms are outside facing however, so if that is an issue for you this is not the ideal property. Your key is required to enter the gates at every entrance, so only other guests should be in the common spaces. The pillows were great but my mattress wasn't the best. There is no central AC, you have an in room unit, so you may be bothered by the noise. Wi-Fi is included and the speed was good. I did not use the pool or gym during my stay but the lobby was updated and fresh, the staff were all very friendly and check in/out was a breeze. They have drinks (first one free) each evening and also offer 10% off at the IHOP next door. Considering the outrageous rates at other local hotels, I felt Avatar was a good value for a few days and would recommend if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank flennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hruiz2017, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear flennee,

Please allow me to thank you for choosing us during your recent Trip and I’m really glad to read that you were so satisfied with our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and I’m sorry if we were not able to exceed all your expectations.

I do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,

Howard Ruiz
Front Office Manager
hruiz@jdvhotels.com
Avatar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was here for three nights attending a business event nearby and paid $279 per night.

Ripoff.

It's little more than a 70s motel with a fancy front and an IHOP(B) attached.It has a tiny pool, no room service or bar.

The staff were excellent. Especially when I needed documents printed off. I had a decent burrito at a lunch counter 100 yards away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hruiz2017, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fulhamish,

First of all allow us to thank you for your review, detailing your experiences from your stay with us, firstly please accept our apologies for the areas that we fell short of expectations.

We are very proud to know that our team of collaborators has managed to make your stay pleasant, to us your comments are very important because thanks to them we improve our service.

Best Regards,

Howard Ruiz
Front Office Manager
hruiz@jdvhotels.com
Avatar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews