We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael L

Pure luxury in Paso Robles

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 13, 2023
This was our second visit to Canyon Villa Inn and it was just as spectacular as the first. The hosts, Kath and Wills, provide exceptional surroundings and service. They are attentive without being overly so. The location, high on a hill, offer peace and quiet and exceptional views. It is about 5-10 minutes west of Paso Robles, so conveniently close to vineyards, but also easy to get into town. Chef Wills is a true artist with food. Breakfasts and late afternoon small bites are as good as anywhere. In fact, the respect for food ingredients and presentation remind me of Europe, where they also respect food (sadly not so common in the U.S.). I highly recommend extending to a 3-night stay to include Sunday evening so that you can join the spectacular Sunday dinner prepared by Chef Wills, where a local wine maker also joins and provides a wine tasting and presentation prior to dinner. Inn guests bring a bottle of wine to share at Sunday dinner. The Sunday dinner is elective, and we've participated both trips and absolutely love the relaxed surroundings and conversations with the hosts and other guests.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Luxury surroundings, accommodations, and meals but at a value for what you get.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review
Responded Jul 2, 2023
Ciao Michael,
Grazie Mille ... Your review recognizes all the key points of hospitality that we strive to achieve everyday for every guest. We are very grateful that you wrote incredibly concise and informative comments that will benefit all travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Con Amore,
Kath and Wills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱16,297
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱16,297
5.5 km from The Canyon Villa
Free parking
Pool
₱9,287
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.3 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
    ₱14,836
  • Priceline
2.6 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Farmhouse Paso Robles Lobby Entrance
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱13,375
  • Skyscanner.com
2.3 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Wyndham
    ₱9,933
  • Hotels.com
5.4 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paso Robles
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
493
5
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
493
5
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday supper wine hour playboy mansion professional chef chef carter gracious hosts other guests master chef atop a hill bed and breakfast small plates quail italian countryside luxurious rooms wine tasting rolling hills every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 503 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2023 via mobile

Spent a fantastic long weekend at the Villa for a birthday celebration and can’t wait to return! Kath and Wills run a top notch place. It is a beautiful setting and so welcoming and clean. The breakfasts and wine hours are amazing, and the Sunday dinner is ridiculously good - so much so that we arranged a private dinner at the Villa on Monday - which I highly recommend. We ate at several great restaurants during our stay, including the Michelin starred restaurant at Justin (which I would also highly recommend), and the private dinner at the Villa was the best! One of the best aspects of our stay was getting to know Wills and Kath and the other guests staying there with us. We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank NomadDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2023

Ciao Nomad Dad,
Grazie Mille ... Your recognition of our incredible hospitality is rewarding. Especially marking the significantly high integrity of all meal services and the excellent cleanliness the Villa is gratifying.

We welcome your return visit to celebrate another milestone.

Con Amore,
Kath and Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2023

I cannot think of a better place to relax. Canyon villas exceeded our expatations. The room was sensational, the meals we had done by the owner Chef Wills and his wife Katherine were incredable . Their kindness, help were nothing more than great. If you need to relax in the wine country of California think about this wonderful place

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank camfam500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2023

Ciao CamFam,
Thank you ... We are honored to have assisted you during your anniversary stay. The relaxing and quiet ambiance of the Villa's secure estate is a wonderful benefit for the safety and welfare of our registered guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Kindly,
Kath and Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2023

My husband and I had a fantastic experience staying at the Canyon Villa! We stayed at the end of April. The property has panoramic views of canyons and vineyards. The suites are beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. Chef Wills and Kath are wonderful hosts. In fact, Kath put together a very special couples package for us at the price point that I was seeking. It was a luxurious splurge but well worth it! Our package included a custom four course dinner by Chef Wills with a paired wine selection. That was fabulous! We had a couples massage and monogram robes to take home. We also had a lovely Canyon Villa monogrammed insulated wine bag for our wine purchases at the local wineries. A three course breakfast is included with every stay and a wine hour with select wine choices and chef prepared snacks each night. We met new friends and we really enjoyed the entire experience. It feels like a very secluded intimate stay but it's only minutes away from all that Paso Robles has to offer. We plan to come back with other couples in the near future! We highly recommend the Canyon Villa for a romantic couples get away!

Room tip: This is a place to relax and unplug!
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2023

Ciao Lori,
Grazie Mille ... We are thrilled to have orchestrated the incredible luxury package for your special getaway. Our challenge to create an elevated experience and "raise the bar" for a very special guest experience at The Canyon Villa was very fulfilling for us. Your concise details of every moment of your stay is amazing! We welcome your return visit.
Con amore,
Kath and Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2023

Elegant, relaxing with marvelous hosts. Our second time here, we hope to come more frequently. The layout, the food, the decor. Stay once and you will be back. The breakfast is delicious and beautiful. Ask about staying Sunday night when they cook dinner. Wonderful food.
Paso is a place to wine and dine. To come back and relax at the Villa is perfect. Get away from from everyday life here. The owners are meticulously clean. They do so much to be sure you love your stay

Room tip: The Villa is just out of town so it is quiet and peaceful
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigJEver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2023

Ciao Big J Ever!
Grazie Mille ... Your wonderful review highlights all the key points that travelers may expect at The Canyon Villa. We welcome your return visit.
Con Affetto,
Kath and Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2023

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful anniversary weekend at the Canyon Villa with incomparable proprietors Chef William Carter and Katherine Bloxsom-Carter. This was our 5th visit to the villa in 9 years. It just keeps getting better. We ate wonderful food prepared by Chef Wills, drank many great bottles of wine, and made new friends. The rooms are comfy and cozy with unexpected extravagances such as pillow spray, heavy robes, and room heating by an electric fireplace. While there is wifi, don't expect to plant yourself in front of a television or computer. This is the place to go to unplug and get back in touch with each other, the wonderful area, amazing art, great wines, and wonderful food. Chef Wills frequents the local farmers market for the freshest ingredients and prepares as much from scratch as humanly possible. It is a joy to watch him work preparing every detail and seeing the passion he puts into the food he conceives.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2023

Ciao Joan,
We are honored that you selected The Canyon Villa to celebrate your 45th anniversary. We are grateful for your continued patronage and confidence in our distinguished brand of hospitality.
Con Amore,
Kath and Chef Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews