We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BigJEver

A Great Escape

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 1, 2023
Elegant, relaxing with marvelous hosts. Our second time here, we hope to come more frequently. The layout, the food, the decor. Stay once and you will be back. The breakfast is delicious and beautiful. Ask about staying Sunday night when they cook dinner. Wonderful food.
Paso is a place to wine and dine. To come back and relax at the Villa is perfect. Get away from from everyday life here. The owners are meticulously clean. They do so much to be sure you love your stay
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: The Villa is just out of town so it is quiet and peaceful
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review
Responded Jun 29, 2023
Ciao Big J Ever!
Grazie Mille ... Your wonderful review highlights all the key points that travelers may expect at The Canyon Villa. We welcome your return visit.
Con Affetto,
Kath and Wills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱8,901
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,901
2.4 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Bistro – Dining Area
Tripadvisor
₱10,877
₱9,285
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,285
2.1 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
₱9,190
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.3 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱11,196
₱9,201
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱7,129
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱12,724
  • Official Website
2.6 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Property
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱13,090
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    ₱16,125
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,281
5.5 km from The Canyon Villa
Free parking
Pool
Farmhouse Paso Robles Lobby Entrance
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱12,657
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,085
  • Priceline
5.4 km from The Canyon Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paso Robles
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
492
5
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
492
5
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday supper wine hour playboy mansion professional chef chef carter gracious hosts other guests master chef atop a hill bed and breakfast small plates quail italian countryside luxurious rooms wine tasting rolling hills every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 502 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2023

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful anniversary weekend at the Canyon Villa with incomparable proprietors Chef William Carter and Katherine Bloxsom-Carter. This was our 5th visit to the villa in 9 years. It just keeps getting better. We ate wonderful food prepared by Chef Wills, drank many great bottles of wine, and made new friends. The rooms are comfy and cozy with unexpected extravagances such as pillow spray, heavy robes, and room heating by an electric fireplace. While there is wifi, don't expect to plant yourself in front of a television or computer. This is the place to go to unplug and get back in touch with each other, the wonderful area, amazing art, great wines, and wonderful food. Chef Wills frequents the local farmers market for the freshest ingredients and prepares as much from scratch as humanly possible. It is a joy to watch him work preparing every detail and seeing the passion he puts into the food he conceives.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2023

Ciao Joan,
We are honored that you selected The Canyon Villa to celebrate your 45th anniversary. We are grateful for your continued patronage and confidence in our distinguished brand of hospitality.
Con Amore,
Kath and Chef Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2023 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Canyon Villa. We had a four day stay in this wonderful home and everyday was special. We were greeted warmly as old friends. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Housekeeping is unobtrusive, fast and careful. The staff are warm and welcoming and simply want you to have a good time in their home.

Every morning we were able to enjoy a walk on the property. Breakfast was always on time and the food was exceptional. In the evenings, we arranged to have a charcuterie board prepared to accompany the wines that we discovered. All the food was fresh, farm to table, chosen and exquisitely prepared by our own personal master Chef Wills.

I can only say great things about our visit to the Canyon Villa. I have already made our reservation to return. I look forward to enjoying the company of our hosts and their staff.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2023

Ciao Sandra!

Grazie Mille ... we sincerely appreciate your wonderful "on-point" comments of our lovely Inn. We strive for perfection in the cleanliness, the professionalism of our staff, our amenities, beverage offerings and meal services.

We are humbled by your confidence in all that our Villa has to offer travelers.

We're excited for your return visit!!!

Con Amore,
Kath aka Bootsie and Chef Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2023

Our family and friends just returned from another visit to Paso Robles, one of California’s premier wine regions. While a wine-buying trip is always a treat, our trip was made even more memorable because of our stay at The Canyon Villa. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Kath, who, along with her husband, Chef Wills, is the proprietor of The Canyon Villa, we felt the tension from our six-hour drive melt away.

This is our third visit to The Canyon Villa. Often when returning to the site of a well-loved memory, the new experience fails to live up to what we remembered; that is not the case with The Canyon Villa, as the quality of the accommodations, services, and experience remain exceptional.
Because The Canyon Villa is intimate, with only four guest bedrooms, the experience is warm and inviting – like staying at a villa in the Italian countryside, only better! Every evening began with Wine Hour, including thoughtfully selected wines from California’s central coast and small bites masterfully prepared by Chef Wills. While excellent culinary experiences may be found locally, after returning to the Villa after a day of wine tasting, we found no reason to venture out again. Instead, we arranged to have Chef Wills, a Michelin Star-trained chef, prepare our dinner each night – and let me tell you, each dinner with its artistic presentation was as much a treat for the eyes as it was for our tastebuds. After dinner, we settled in front of the living room fireplace, knowing that we would soon be rewarded with an excellent night’s sleep in a spacious guest room overlooking the rolling hills of Paso.

Each morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast complete with freshly baked croissants, followed by a fruit course, and then the main course. Fortified, we headed out to visit one or two of Paso’s more than 350 world-class wineries.

When traveling to Paso, we always plan to stay three or more days over the weekend to enjoy Sunday Supper, a five-star evening featuring wines presented by a local winery and Chef Wills’ fantastic cuisine.

The Canyon Villa, with Kath and Chef Wills’ warm hospitality, is our happy place! We’ve already booked our next visit.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2023

Ciao Maria!

Thank you to your group for being the special guests that your are; very appreciative of our gold standards of hospitality and respectful of our efforts including our staff. It is very humbling. We look forward to welcoming your April 2024 visit.

Con Amore,

Kath aka Bootsie and Chef Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2023

Chef Wills and Kath were exceptional hosts! It was a pleasant surprise to be greated by Kath personally upon our arrival. First of all, the property itself is so beautiful
with manicured landscape, and perched on the hill overlooking the local vinyards. We loved the various birds scurrying around outside. Our room (Siena) was not only immaculately clean, but beautiful and relaxing with a fabulous view from our balcony. The bed was so comfortable, and cozy. Wine hour, and breakfast were our favorite. Kath shared lovely wines, and Chef Wills made us the most delicious tastes for wine hour, including various cheeses, dips, home made lavash crackers. The breakfasts were superb! We were able to enjoy mini croissants ("cornetti") with jam, a fruit parfait with granola, mint and lime zest, a fritatta with homemade Italian sausage, avocado toast, and orange slices with a maple ginger glaze. To be honest, the wine hour, and breakfast was the food we enjoyed most while in Paso. Our only regret- not adding on the dinner with Chef Wills (or staying Sunday for dinner!- We will be sure to do that next time!) We will certainly be back!

Room tip: Either plan for dinner with Chef Wills, or stay for Sunday dinner- we missed out on that!
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2023

Ciao Lisa!

We are overjoyed that we helped to make your visit to Paso Robles very special. Your keen thoughts of our Villa, our food and beverages and our caring brand of hospitality is very welcoming.

A Presto (see you soon)!

Con Amore,
Kath aka Bootsie and Chef Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2022

The owners Wills & Catherine go the extra mile to take excellent care of their 4 bedroom bed & breakfast Inn. Everything is in such good shape that it looks new - even if it isn't. A very thoughtfully detailed information packet is emailed to you prior to arrival. The panoramic views are also a plus.
Spotlessly clean throughout the entire property. They do a super deep clean in between guests, so are very conscious of making things as safe as possible hygiene wise.
Very comfortable bed. We kept the windows open all night enjoying the crisp clean air, and the duvet was the perfect weight to keep us cozy.
Huge deep tub was a luxury. Water flow was good.
Breakfast was very good. My favorites were the little flaky croissants and the oatmeal with a special raisin sauce. Chef Wills went out of his way to make sure I had what I liked - very sweet of him.
Catherine was equally hospitable.
Highly recommend for anyone wanting a great stay within the Paso Robles area.

Room tip: Siena on the 2nd floor with the King Sized Bed is my favorite
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Carter, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2022

Ciao Cinderella Dearest!
Grazie Mille ... We sincerely appreciate and are very grateful of your recognition to our brand of lodging/hospitality. We strive everyday to provide luxurious and safe comfort to all our guests.
Con Affetto,
Kath and Wills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews